Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default What will we do in the downtime?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Advanced warning of down-time

    As this site and particularly this forum grow bigger and busier every day, there comes a point when we need a bigger place with more space and resources and room to expand in the future. Currently, the site is hosted on a VPS (Virtual Private Server) and we are getting close to capacity. So, sometime within the next 2 weeks, the site and the forum will be moving to our very own dedicated server. This will provide bags of room for future expansion. However, it also means that there will be some down-time on the forum. Possibly one or two days while the move takes place (or hopefully less than that). I aim to co-ordinate this down-time so that it happens over a weekend but I will keep you informed using this thread.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    Will we be having the vBulletin upgrade at the same time?

    Please post 'chat' replies in What will we do in the downtime?
    Last edited by Strix; 18th Mar 2009 at 02:11 pm.
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  3. #3
    Senior Member Geoffers's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    300

    Default

    (hope the move goes better than most of my 'upgrades' etc; there is ALWAYS a problem- but i assume you are a professional IT man for whom such things never happen)

    keep up the good work
    Last edited by Strix; 18th Mar 2009 at 02:04 pm. Reason: tidying after thread split
    Boo, just testing if this is 'the signature', i WILL make a better one...when I can think of one... ah, I have it!...no, too silly...ummmm
    right, here it is - no, much too serious, ummmm

  4. #4
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strix View Post
    Will we be having the vBulletin upgrade at the same time?
    NO!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  5. #5
    Super Member Ritch7's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Norfolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    552

    Default

    are there going to be any additional changes when movin to our own server?

  6. #6
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ritch7 View Post
    are there going to be any additional changes when movin to our own server?
    Nothing you'll notice although in theory things should be a little quicker but whether you experience that will largely depend on the quality of your broadband connection.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    So it's really just a move to a bigger clubhouse and no programming changes. Sounds fine to me. I'm sure this is done all the time without any problems. What could possibly go wrong? Right?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    22

    Default

    i just got comfortable here
    whats a new adress?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    FjÀrdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zabilya View Post
    i just got comfortable here
    whats a new adress?
    Ad far as I understand, and I do think CadTutor would have said if it was something else - the site is just moving to a new server, but the domain is still the same.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  10. #10
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    As far as I understand, and I do think CadTutor would have said if it was something else - the site is just moving to a new server, but the domain is still the same.
    That's correct, there will be no obvious change. This was just a forewarning of some down-time next weekend. More details soon. **regrets even mentioning it**
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

Similar Threads

  1. has CadTutor changed? & moving a single point
    By cadmench in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2008, 09:27 pm
  2. Thanks CADTutor
    By architecture68-raff in forum Feedback
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2007, 11:47 pm
  3. cadtutor.biz
    By Mark Thomas in forum Feedback
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2006, 05:37 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts