+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Delete Layers

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Delete Layers

    I cannot delete layers which I am not using. I opened new drawing and in Layer Properties Manager I have 21 layers showing that i am using them excluding layers "0" and "Defpoints". How can I delete them? I cannot Purge them.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,703

    Default

    0 can't be deleted. Defpoints is kinda tricky, but its an AutoCAD created layer so it can't be messed with. The one way to get rid of Defpoints is to run the command line version of PURGE, obviously if the layer is not beings used.
    Revit & AutoCAD "In fact I find AutoCAD to be a very frustrating experience now." -Steve Stafford

  3. #3
    Senior Member neekcotrack's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    0 can't be deleted. Defpoints is kinda tricky, but its an AutoCAD created layer so it can't be messed with. The one way to get rid of Defpoints is to run the command line version of PURGE, obviously if the layer is not beings used.
    You can also draw lines of what layers you want to get rid of and type laydel and it will delete everything on the layer and the layer its self. Becareful it will delete everything on the layer no matter what!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    0 can't be deleted. Defpoints is kinda tricky, but its an AutoCAD created layer so it can't be messed with. The one way to get rid of Defpoints is to run the command line version of PURGE, obviously if the layer is not beings used.
    I apologize for not being clear I am not trying to delete "0" and "Defpoint" layers but the 21 layers which autocad saying they are being used. How can they be used if I just open new drawing from the scratch and those layers showed up on the Layer Properties Manager. I tried purge it cleared all unused layers but it did not deleted 21 layers.

    thanks

  5. #5
    Senior Member neekcotrack's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by repelectric View Post
    I apologize for not being clear I am not trying to delete "0" and "Defpoint" layers but the 21 layers which autocad saying they are being used. How can they be used if I just open new drawing from the scratch and those layers showed up on the Layer Properties Manager. I tried purge it cleared all unused layers but it did not deleted 21 layers.

    thanks
    Try what I said and it should take care of the problem.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,703

    Default

    Probably some blocks that are referenced to certain layers. To really "clean out" a drawing I usually do a Ctrl+A and hit the Delete key. Then I run a purge. Oh and don't forget to delete/clear everything from Paperspace.
    Revit & AutoCAD "In fact I find AutoCAD to be a very frustrating experience now." -Steve Stafford

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neekcotrack View Post
    You can also draw lines of what layers you want to get rid of and type laydel and it will delete everything on the layer and the layer its self. Becareful it will delete everything on the layer no matter what!!!!!!
    At first it did not work I guess i was doing it wrong and actually it worked the way you said it thank you I appreciate.
    Last edited by Tiger; 29th Jun 2010 at 09:07 am.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Try using the command "laydel". In the Command Line, type "N" for name and then select and delete the layer.

    A.Rees

  9. #9
    Senior Member harrison-matt's Avatar
    Computer Details
    harrison-matt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Acer Aspire TimelineX
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    RAM:
    4GB
    Monitor:
    Dual
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NOVA/DC
    Posts
    113

    Default

    You could even do a "laywalk" to see what layers are being used on what objects, then do the above mentioned laydel with name to filter the selections and delete multiple layers at once.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Micaletti's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    In the case of AutoCAD MEP, most of those apparently unused layers are referenced in the Display and Style Manager. There is a layer for "liner hidden" for example, in every view. To truely have a clean drawing without all those layers, and to be able to purge those layers, you need to go through the Display Manager and get rid of or merge most of those layers set asside for hidden lines. The stock AutoCAD MEP templates are really bloated in the Display Manager.

    Steven Micaletti
    Virtual Mechanical
    Design Build Software & Content For AutoCAD MEP
    Last edited by Tiger; 20th Apr 2012 at 07:24 am. Reason: removed adress

Similar Threads

  1. layers won't delete
    By gib65 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2013, 01:46 am
  2. Delete Layers Off
    By MR MAN in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30th Aug 2008, 07:43 am
  3. delete all layers
    By JONTHEPOPE in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2008, 01:07 am
  4. How do I delete Layers?
    By chee_dee in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2007, 02:43 pm
  5. DELETE LAYERS
    By BITDRAUGHTY in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2005, 07:52 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts