+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default CMS intelliCAD good or bad?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    personally, i haven't used autocad for a long time. currently, my friend asked me to recommend one good autocad alternative to him.

    i think most of the alternative softwares are using the same kernel/technology (intellicad), but just their interfaces are a little bit different. Am i right? is CMS intellicad good to use? it seems to be the cheapest one, much cheaper than Progecad & Bricscad.

    if there is no big difference in technology, should i choose the cheapest one? please advise

    thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    42,438

    Default

    I'm sure it is good at what it does. And you can't beat the price for the functionality it offers. Low on cash? Think "alternative CAD software".
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    autocad /dwg is anyway dominating in the architectural & building service industry. workers would print the drawings out and modify the design on the paper in the work site. unless one day, they change their practice or the design is as complex as olympic birdnest, autocad will be kept for a long time.

  4. #4
    Super Member Ritch7's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Norfolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    552

    Default

    autocad dominates bascically never mind microstation vectorworks etc, autodesk have pretty much coverd every aspect of drawing software, be it strictly 3-D/ 2-D/specifically Mechanical/Architecture/Animation purposes (inventor)

    yes you are right Autodesk will contiune to be used thorughout the future, more than any other program and will get better and better.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    42,438

    Default

    Choose the one that best fits your needs and your budget. I don't think you can or should separate the two criteria. Honestly.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    6,748

    Default

    I have played with intellicad and found it to be ok its better than LT as it has lisp and Vba included the other cheaper alternative. Tested it with our lisp programs and no real problems.

    I think it depends on your needs, simple CAD go for it 100% compatibility with other Autocad users not sure.

    I am sure you can download a trial version for 30 days.

    Personally I think autocad should come in 3 versions simple 2D (LT), advanced 2d+ simple 3d with lisp vba then full blown Civ3d, Architectural, developers also known as OEM. The first being cheaper than it is now.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    have anyone tried CMS intellicad? why is it much cheaper than other alternatives? is it weaker? is ProgeCad /BrisCad stronger than CMS intellicad? on their web, there is no customer reference that i have nothing to refer.

  8. #8
    Full Member Chris77's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Chris77's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XPx64
    RAM:
    4gb
    Graphics:
    quadro fx1700
    Monitor:
    22"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    30

    Default

    i have used ZWcad, progecad, bricscad, that one that is 50$ smart-dwg, and doubleCAD XT (the free commercial use one) but in the end prefer Rhinoceros to a autocad clone

    there is a community called www.intellicad.net you can find more information there.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    As a long time user of AutoCAD and Inventor and a retired CAD Manager, I believe my experience and dealings with both Autodesk and their local agent qualify me to make the following statement. Upon retirement, I wanted a CAD app at home, but could not afford to purchase Autodesk products. So, I purchased IntelliCAD as a 2D alternative and in the main as it is closely aligned to AutoCAD was happy. However, I now have 2 gripes to publish.....


    1. I noted after a trouble free install that CHPROP did not work, so I raised a concern via the software and subsequent email re this fault. I am running the app on Windows 8.1. The only reply I got was that their version worked on Windows 7, which is of no help to me. I replied politely expressing my concern and was re-sent their original reply. It is one of the commands I use most, in 2D drafting. Not Happy.......


    2. I recently upgraded to Windows 10 to discover that IntelliCAD needed reauthorisation. On further investigation, I discovered that if one changes computer, or OS, then IntelliCAD needs to be de-authorised first, the subsequent file sent to them to show it has been deauthorised. Then once reinstalled it can then be reauthorised. I did not know that before I changed to Win10 and appears that in this event there is a cost, which I believe is totally wrong and not something I have experienced with any software provider in nearly 30yrs of CAD and 45yrs working with computers.
    I sent them an email over a week ago re this issue and to date have had no reply.


    As a consequence, and as one has 30 days from upgrade to Win10 to revert back to 8.1, I have reverted back. Once I did this, IntelliCAD then worked again, albeit not the CHPROP.


    My opinion is, "Don't complain about the service from IntelliCAD, there isn't any!"

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Forgot this;


    If you have a scenario where the computer that IntelliCAD is installed on crashes either because I=of hardware failure or OS failure that requires a new computer or a reinstall of the OS, what is you position re IntelliCAD. Given that you have NO chance to de-authorise in advance, will there be a cost to get back the use of the software that has already been paid for?


    Assuming that emails are in fact answered...........

Similar Threads

  1. Intellicad 98
    By Coosbaylumber in forum Catch All
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2009, 10:54 pm
  2. IntelliCad(s)
    By Cadalist in forum Catch All
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Jun 2007, 07:57 am
  3. IntelliCAD versions
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2006, 12:00 am
  4. Saving Intellicad files as .pdf??
    By hunter301 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st May 2005, 08:25 pm
  5. IntelliCAD
    By conpipe in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Mar 2005, 09:34 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts