+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Full Member MS-S's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MS-S's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, SP3
    Monitor:
    2-22-inch ViewSonics
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    35

    Default Scaling Text Question

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'd like to ask a question about a concept that seems to elude me. I generally place my text in modelspace, which will look fine in (say) 20-scale, but when I use the same base and scale it to 40-scale, the text is too small. Is there any way that I can enter text that will (or can) be resized to look appropriate in different scales?

    Many thanks!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Consider the use of Annotative text. The topic is covered quite well in your AutoCAD Help file.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    If you have to dimension in MS then you could factor up the size of the text to account for when you scale the drawing down in PS, but for me it's easier in this case to dimension in PS in the first place, but that's a whole different debate also widely covered in the forum!
    "To alcohol; the cause and solution to all of life's problems." - Homer Simpson

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    FjÀrdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    I might be mistaken here, but I don't think the Annotative feature is something that is avalible in 2007?

    In that case, there really isn't much to do, either like GE said, do your texting in Paper Space or do multiple texts in Model Space on different layers that can be respectivly On and Off in Paper Space.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You are correct Tiger. My mistake.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Scaling question...
    By Confucius Ricardo in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Apr 2009, 01:07 am
  2. Scaling question...
    By ChadPoehland in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2008, 09:28 pm
  3. Dimension and scaling...just a quick question!
    By jbwilliamz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2008, 06:49 am
  4. Plot Scaling Question
    By Laura R. in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2008, 12:29 am
  5. I have a question about scaling objects.
    By bluetoast in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2008, 09:24 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts