+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    29

    Default Selection highlighting changed to solid not dashed

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Midway through my session I must have hit some key combination that changed a global setting of some sort as all of a sudden when selecting objects they no longer show up dashed to show they are selected, the grip points still show but there is no dotted line of the objects.

    This happens everywhere including when picking boundaries to hatch......you cant see what boundaries you have seleced because the selection line is solid.

    This is making life unbelievably difficult, does anyone know how to reset the selection to a dashed line as opposed to a solid line?

    Incase I am not being clear, draw a line. Then select it (click on it) and you see it becomes dashed and the grips appear. When I select now just the grips show up and the line stays solid.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    It could be your HIGHLIGHT system variable

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CarlB View Post
    It could be your HIGHLIGHT system variable
    you sir are a genious! Im sane again.

  4. #4
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Another option is to go to OPTIONS- Selection tab then hit the "Visual Effect Settings..." button- this will give you a couple more options to try out also.
    "To alcohol; the cause and solution to all of life's problems." - Homer Simpson

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2008
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    another problem solved thanks to my favorite forum!! 'preciate it cadtutors!

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    hi guys I'm new here...i have same problem i tried highlight=1, it works but when i open any cad file still the same problem...guys pls help me..thanks in advance.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I know I am some 2 years late with this reply aldooliquino, but I have noticed that even with HIGHLIGHT = 1, when you select lines with a linetype that is "dashed", the highlight effect is not apparent. I suspect you were selecting dashed line. Could always be wrong tho...

Similar Threads

  1. highlighting
    By rookie37 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2008, 03:55 am
  2. --- dashed lines look ___ solid in layout view
    By ann in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Jun 2007, 07:07 pm
  3. Highlighting Text?
    By daiharv in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2007, 02:05 pm
  4. 2007 - solid selection problem
    By maxholer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Apr 2006, 01:23 pm
  5. Highlighting problem
    By paulmcz in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Nov 2005, 03:56 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts