+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Wrapping text around an arc or circle

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm trying to wrap text around an arc to create an emblem. Can't find a way to get the desired effect. The only methods that I thought of were a polar array, and an oblique slant, but failed.

    I'm trying to recreate the USCG emblem, and need to wrap the text around the arc in the center of the symbol.

    Any helpful hints would be appreciated.


    Senor Dorado

  2. #2
    Super Member skipsophrenic's Avatar
    Computer Details
    skipsophrenic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Vista 32 bit
    Computer:
    Compaq
    Motherboard:
    erm . . yeah?
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2140 @ 1.60 Ghz
    RAM:
    2039MB
    Graphics:
    don't ask you'll kill me
    Primary Storage:
    360gb
    Monitor:
    21" widescren - 16:10 ratio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    ARCTEXT command sounds like what u're after.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. - Albert Einstein

    SET FILEDIA = 1

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    ARCTEXT is an unknown command in 2007 revision. Am I entering the command incorrectly?

    Senor Dorado

  4. #4
    Super Member chulse's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chulse's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Lenovo W701 mobile workstation
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800M
    Monitor:
    17" wide screen laptop w/ 22" acer
    Discipline
    See details...
    chulse's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Conservation Planner/Arborist
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tree Preservation Planning for civil design and developent
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Front Royal, Virginia
    Posts
    1,313

    Default

    Is Express Tools loaded?
    Cary Hulse
    Conservation Planner
    www.TreePreservationPlan.com
    www.Pack53.info

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,192

    Default

    Just to add to the above...

    Express > Text > Arc Aligned Text.

    If you did not load Express Tools when you loaded 2007 initially you can go back to your installation CD and correct that oversight.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,527

    Default

    If you did not load Express Tools you can also

    Create a block - say of the letter T
    Use the DIVIDE command with the BLOCK option.

    Go back and edit each letter as desired.

    This method will also follow polylines and splines.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  7. #7
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Load Express Tools, easy enough.

    From the "Express" drop down menu, "Arc-Aligned Text."

    That was easy! Take a peek-a-boo at the attached *.dwg.
    AutoCAD '07 Express Tools like ReMark states above.

    Of course, edit as desired.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Tankman; 2nd Apr 2009 at 08:54 pm.
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Thanks

    Thanks to all for your help.

    Tankman, I am downloading your dwg. Thanks!


    Senor Dorado
    Last edited by Senor Dorado; 3rd Apr 2009 at 02:57 pm.

  9. #9
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Senor Dorado View Post
    Thanks to all for your help.

    Tankman, I am downloading your dwg. Thanks!


    Senor Dorado
    Great! Be sure to post your USCG *.dwg file when you finish!
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  10. #10
    Super Member dumfatnhappy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dumfatnhappy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    CPU:
    3.6 dual quad core
    RAM:
    24 gig
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 1700
    Primary Storage:
    269?
    Monitor:
    twin 24" flat panels
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    dumfatnhappy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    mechanical design (Petro-Chem)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Process piping (3D)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ruskin, Fla
    Posts
    669

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tankman View Post
    Great! Be sure to post your USCG *.dwg file when you finish!

    awesome, that's my old alma mater! served 81-85. best 4 years of my life! woo hoo!

    that's me on the bow...
    Attached Images
    dum


    'Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress.. But I repeat myself.'
    --Mark Twain

Similar Threads

  1. Wrapping Text?
    By marinebro0306 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2010, 04:47 pm
  2. Wrapping sheet metal over fixture shape
    By Taryon in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2008, 08:47 pm
  3. Circle Text
    By CADgirl in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Sep 2007, 10:35 pm
  4. Circle Text
    By Perto in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th Oct 2006, 05:14 pm
  5. Text around a circle
    By Tara in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2003, 04:59 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts