+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Utica,NY
    Posts
    32

    Default External References

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My question is as follows:
    I have a set of drawings that i need to send to a client. These drawings have photos inserted as external references. In the past we have sent clients the cad files and then accompanied them with the photo/external reference files for them to reload once recieved. Although this method has worked in the past it is my understanding that there is a way to say "bind" these photos to the drawings so as to have a stand alone file. If there is a way to do this i would greatly appreciate any input. Also i have used the insert OLE object before and this sort of accomplished the task that i mentioned, however, this requires you to have to insert them and reposition them individually and some times i have had resolution issues, i am more looking for a function that would just do this with the images that are already referenced. P.S. i am currently using AutoCAD2010. Thank you for any input

  2. #2
    Super Member MaxwellEdison's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MaxwellEdison's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro (32-bit)
    Computer:
    Dell Precision PWS490
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon 5130
    RAM:
    4GB DDR2
    Graphics:
    nVidea Quadro FX 3500
    Monitor:
    Dell 20" LCD Widescreen (Main) NEC Accusync 125F 20" CRT (Secondary)
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    734

    Default

    Open your XRef Manager (command XREF). Select the Xref from the list, right-click and select Bind then Insert.
    Just because you're , doesn't mean wrong is all that's .

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Utica,NY
    Posts
    32

    Default

    When i open the xref manager then right click the reference i see nothing that says bind or insert just open, attach, unload, reload, detach

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Utica,NY
    Posts
    32

    Default

    does it matter if the xref is a tiff or not?

  5. #5
    Super Member MaxwellEdison's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MaxwellEdison's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro (32-bit)
    Computer:
    Dell Precision PWS490
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon 5130
    RAM:
    4GB DDR2
    Graphics:
    nVidea Quadro FX 3500
    Monitor:
    Dell 20" LCD Widescreen (Main) NEC Accusync 125F 20" CRT (Secondary)
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    734

    Default

    I believe raster images can only be linked, your best bet is still to provide a relative path, I.E. place the image in the same folder and .zip it.
    Just because you're , doesn't mean wrong is all that's .

  6. #6
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    300Gb, 10K rpm
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,963

    Default

    As you have already found, when inserting into the drawing resolution is lost. It is a compromise.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Utica,NY
    Posts
    32

    Default

    here is a thought, if you can only bind a dwg then could you make a copy of the drawing with the raster images and then xref it back into the original drawing and then bind them together or would the bound drawing have an external ref built into it, i will try and let you know

  8. #8
    Senior Member MiGo's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MiGo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    Junk (typical)
    Monitor:
    Dual Screen
    Using
    MEP 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    150

    Default

    If you make an external reference of a drawing with external references those references are brought into the external reference manager list. So if you bind the original external reference then it's external references will still remain on the list in their original state as tiff image ect...

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Utica,NY
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Well like MiGo pointed out no luck with that, i thought i was going to be clever and cheat the system.. Nope. Hopefully in the future CAD will realize that this would be a helpful feature since it would be more useful with raster images. I understand the idea behind externaly referenced dwg files(they can be updated as the file is updated),however, the bind function seems kinda useless since you could just copy and paste the linework and it now becomes part of the drawing. I guess it is faster but once again think it would be more useful with references that aren't CAD generated.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Utica,NY
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Sorry what i should have said before my last reply was thank you guys very much for your input, your posts were very helpful.

Similar Threads

  1. Removing external references with VBA
    By Squiggs in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2008, 04:09 pm
  2. External references
    By Jfennell in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th Jun 2008, 08:54 pm
  3. External references
    By Shiloh in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 20th Dec 2007, 10:41 am
  4. External References palette
    By Daz Seaton in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2007, 04:27 pm
  5. Using Xrefs and External References
    By hubertjt in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2003, 10:09 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts