+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    13

    Wink line weight standards???

    Hi!

    I have been sifting round the forums looking for some help with regards lineweights and plotting.
    I am having trouble getting the correct lineweights for architectural plans, which I want to get to a professional level.
    Is there a list of such lineweight guide lines/ standards??any links?
    with regards which to use for exterior walls? internal walls?? objects etc??
    Im just not sure which weight to use for each to plot a really professional looking drawing!
    any help greatly appreciated!!!!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,511

    Default

    Maybe the AIA has a recommendation regarding lineweights.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Senior Member BenE's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BenE's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z600 Workstation
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5504 2GHz
    RAM:
    24.0 GB (12.0 GB usable)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA FX 580
    Monitor:
    Dual Gateway HD
    Discipline
    Civil
    BenE's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student Assistant
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Open Channel Hydraulic Modeling
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    129

    Default

    The DOD A/E/C Standards are available on the Army Corps' site if you search USACE CAD Standards. Their manual has specific line weights and references AIA and US National CADD Standard.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5640 @ 2.67ghz, 2.67ghz
    RAM:
    3.62 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro NVS 420
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    2 X Acer AL2216W Monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    152

    Default

    I found it easier for my company's needs to make our own lineweight standards and incorporate it all into one standard CTB. For my company, I do CAD work for the government/military installations separate from the Corps of engineers. But there isn't really any one standard that is enforceable with regards to the government/military. I mostly see the National CADD Standard as a recommendation. There are alot of different variables also.. Using one CTB lineweight setup for all your drawings is also unfeasible and unreasonable. a CTB lineweight set up for Architectural D could make your 11X17 drawings look pathetic. For this reason, I created a standard lineweight thickness to each drawing size by creating a standard CTB (100% lineweights) and an alternative that can be used if necessary (50% lineweights) to make things more readable. I've only had to use the half-scale lineweights once or twice but it's nice to have.

    What you could do, if you aren't doing work that requires you to adhere to a standard lineweight system, is simply create a standard CTB from scratch and experiment. It took me a couple days (working off and on) before i was happy with our own new standard. But we've used it for all our projects for a year now and we love it. I get compliments on how nice my drawings look. That makes all this nightmarish CAD stuff worth the heartache. The paycheck helps too.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,511

    Default

    Lineweight standards tend to vary by trade and profession. Is there anything in the book Architectural Graphic Standards regarding lineweights?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,511

    Default

    From the book Architectural Design and Drafting it is recommended that thick solid lines (0.6mm) be used for floor plan wall outlines, elevation outline, section, foundation outlines and beams. Thin lines (0.3mm) should be used for floor plan symbols, elevation and section features. It also recommends that dashed lines, center lines, dimension/extension & leader lines be thin too. Cutting plain or viewing plane lines should be thick.

    It doesn't seem as though there is a lot of variation.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #7
    Senior Member BenE's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BenE's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z600 Workstation
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5504 2GHz
    RAM:
    24.0 GB (12.0 GB usable)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA FX 580
    Monitor:
    Dual Gateway HD
    Discipline
    Civil
    BenE's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student Assistant
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Open Channel Hydraulic Modeling
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yeah, we also use a .ctb to control line weights. Ours is roughly based on the DOD manual recommendations. Since we work with the Corps is makes things a little easier.

Similar Threads

  1. Line Weight
    By grain in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2009, 09:48 am
  2. Changing line weight
    By joek1 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2008, 07:25 pm
  3. Line weight
    By Marcus in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd Sep 2006, 07:57 am
  4. line weight
    By sentinel in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Jul 2006, 09:01 am
  5. LINE WEIGHT
    By steel_dragon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th May 2006, 04:48 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts