+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    475

    Question need help...How to create a shift knob???

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Im trying to create a car shifter knob. its not a uniform shape.

    here is what the iso and the side view looks looks like.

    I created these shapes by making half of it flat in 2d then revolving it 180°. then i put them back to back. but as you can see them do not mesh correctly. how can I create these shapes so they can mesh nicer. Im trying to learn how to create complex 3d objects, but obviously im not very good at it. Are there any tutorials where I can learn some things.
    Attached Images
    OS: Windows 7 SP1
    Processor: Quad Core Xeon 2.27GHz
    Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 - 768MB
    Ram: 6GB
    Software: AutoCad 2009 32 bit - Microvellum V67

  2. #2
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeP View Post
    Are there any tutorials where I can learn some things.
    See tutorials in my signature. Looks like you want to learn Loft.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    475

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    See tutorials in my signature. Looks like you want to learn Loft.
    ive tried the loft, unless I dont understand how it works. It tells me that the surfaces are non planer.
    OS: Windows 7 SP1
    Processor: Quad Core Xeon 2.27GHz
    Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 - 768MB
    Ram: 6GB
    Software: AutoCad 2009 32 bit - Microvellum V67

  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeP View Post
    ive tried the loft, unless I dont understand how it works. It tells me that the surfaces are non planer.
    You forgot to attach what you have so far. I doubt anyone can give much help without seeing where you are going wrong. Not even a picture of your loft attempt.

    Did you actually go through and do those tutorials I suggested?
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    475

    Default

    how can i upload it, even a zip is larger that the max allowed size???
    OS: Windows 7 SP1
    Processor: Quad Core Xeon 2.27GHz
    Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 - 768MB
    Ram: 6GB
    Software: AutoCad 2009 32 bit - Microvellum V67

  6. #6
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    post a screen shot of the profiles you are using for a loft. Start out by drawing 4 circles. one at 0,0,0, one at 0,0,5 ,one at 0,0,8 and the last at 0,0,9. make the bottom circle diameter 2", the second 4", the third 3" and the fourth 1". Loft, select your circles in order from bottom to top. You should then get a dialog that will let you create a thing surface, solid, let you state how the loft should enter/exit each profile etc. If this works out, play with creating paths and guides.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks11,SolidCam11
    http://www.solidworkslessons.info/
    www.mysolidbox.com

  7. #7
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeP View Post
    how can i upload it, even a zip is larger that the max allowed size???
    Can't possible be too large. The only thing that is needed is the profile sections you are trying to loft - nothing else.

    If it is still too large I would be very interested in seeing a screen capture of that one. My guess is way way too much work. The biggest mistake people make in Loft is too many splines or too many points in splines. Actually makes rougher model rather than smoother.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    475

    Default

    here it is. you can see i tried to make 2 2d views the side view and the front view. then I rotated one 90° and started making the green splines around it to create the shape. but how do I convert the splines into a solid object?
    Attached Images
    OS: Windows 7 SP1
    Processor: Quad Core Xeon 2.27GHz
    Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 - 768MB
    Ram: 6GB
    Software: AutoCad 2009 32 bit - Microvellum V67

  9. #9
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,859

    Default

    forget what you were doing there and start over.

    create a loft from the bottom to the top. Follow what i said for a simple loft. Your loft will be driven by cross sections, path and guide curves. I had you drawing circles but any closed profile will work. You need to know how to close a profile using the Region command, or PEDIT.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks11,SolidCam11
    http://www.solidworkslessons.info/
    www.mysolidbox.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    475

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by shift1313 View Post
    forget what you were doing there and start over.

    create a loft from the bottom to the top. Follow what i said for a simple loft. Your loft will be driven by cross sections, path and guide curves. I had you drawing circles but any closed profile will work. You need to know how to close a profile using the Region command, or PEDIT.
    I read the help, and I still dont understand how to use the loft. what objects in this drawing should I be using. the sections that are laying flat or the ones that are perpendicular to eachother that are standing up??
    OS: Windows 7 SP1
    Processor: Quad Core Xeon 2.27GHz
    Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 - 768MB
    Ram: 6GB
    Software: AutoCad 2009 32 bit - Microvellum V67

Similar Threads

  1. Where is the detent knob?
    By BIGMIKE09281946 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th Mar 2009, 06:41 pm
  2. Volume Knob
    By Life in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2009, 02:33 pm
  3. Shift to Aquire
    By N_461 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Dec 2008, 10:48 pm
  4. Shift KEy and Filterring
    By gheeeber in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2002, 02:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts