Strange drawing coordinates

bdsmoot

Hello all.

I've been using AutoCAD LT for about 4 months now, and I've had to learn a lot on my own. Sometimes little things in AutoCAD happen, and I have no idea why.

One that stands out the most to me is an issue with the drawing coordinates (See attached pic). When it comes to units, I, along with others at my company, prefer using precision at 1/16". Thing is, this causes strange coordinates to occur on the drawing coordinates (numbers that end in "E+03" and the like). I have confirmed that, if I switch the precision to 0'-0", this issue goes away. Also, the more precise I go, the worse this problem becomes (as in, no matter where I move the cursor, 90% of the time, these numbers pop up).

Is there anyway I can get rid of these odd numbers, and keep the drawing coordinates in the foot and inch format?

Thanks for your time.

Coordinate problem.PNG

fuccaro:

Thanks for letting me know what those numbers meant.

rkent:

That's unfortunate to hear... It still makes no sense to me on why this happens. I guess I'll have to either bear it or set my precision to 0'-0". Thanks for the reply.

EDIT: I have found some more information that I think shows why I get those numbers. If you look at the picture I posted earlier, the drawing coordinates take up the entire space allocated for them. Because I use the precision setting at 1/16", that takes up more room to display. If the numbers get too big, AutoCAD compensates by showing the engineering equivalent of that number.

So, I figure if I can move the OSnap icons over some, the drawing coordinates would have room to display properly. Thing is, I see no option on AutoCAD to customize the location of icons on the status bar. Does anyone here know if there is a way to move those icons over?