Help with my 3D CAD/CAM modeling project cost and time

Currahee

OK boys and girls...Although I am a seasoned vet in CAD, 95% of my experience is in Architecture. The other 5% being in mechanical design for Johnson and Johnson, and running CATIA for Eaton, Boeing and Aeroquip. Now that you know my experience you will understand when I say, "HELP" after reading what I need..LOL

Due to the economy and the lack of work in the construction industry I have taken on this project outside my area of expertise. I got a call from a man saying that my old engineering college professor recommended me for this project. This project is a patent of his for a steam generator. He wants me to model each part in the drawing below to be run in a CAD/CAM application.

On to my question. While I feel very comfortable being able to produce the drawings/models, I have some reservations on the time frame and the billing cost.

1.) It will take me 3 times longer to do this than some of you trained in this field.

2.) I really have no idea how long it would take you (trained people) to model it (thats my 1st question).

3.) I have no idea what to charge him (second question). I dont want to charge him my architecture rate ($35.00 hr) because I am afraid it would be too high and it would not be fair to charge him for my incompetence.

Take a look at this drawing and tell me what yall think about it. How long would it take yall to model these parts? (BTW...the motor is not included)

One more thing..I will be using AutoCAD 2007

I am modeling the top one:

g.jpg

Here is cut away view, just in another variation

g2.jpg

I feel for you BDesign