+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Scaling objects

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    49

    Default Scaling objects

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello friends,

    I tried to find answer on this before, but i didn't receive any useful solution. Let's try here...

    I draw my drawings in scale of 1:1. When I want to plot it, I choose the scale factor in plot dialog and everything is ok... I get smaller or bigger drawing plotted on paper, depending on chosen scale. But some elements in drawing (little crosses, topographic signs for tries, traffic, manholes... etc) should be plotted always in the same size no matter what scale factor I choose while plotting. It takes so much time to manually change the size of every topographic sign when client wants to have the drawings plotted in different scales.

    Putting all those topographic signs in certaing layers and scaling all together is not good solution since insertion points are different...

    I am driveing AutoCad Civil 3D now.


    Thanks for any help,
    Bane

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,556

    Default

    Look into Annotative blocks/text
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    feargt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    428

    Default

    If these items are inserted in your drawing as blocks, then you have to make the blocks annotative. This means when you plot your drawing at different scales the blocks will stay the same size. You can control the scale of the objects display in your viewport properties. Unfortunately I do not have more time to explain this to you. But do a search for Annotative blocks and you will surely find more detailed explainations.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Ok, I understand... I can make annotative text, block, attributes, dimensions...

    I made a simple block using "wblock" command. After insertion to drawing I could not find a way to make it annotative.

    When I create block with "block" command there is an option to set it annotative. I chose annotative scale 1:1. Near that block I draw the same size sign which is not annotative, and tried to plot all in 4:1 plot scale. Both are plotted with the same size... Where I go wrong?

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    Attdef my friend. Look into this. Command for Attribute Definition.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,556

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Buzzard View Post
    Attdef my friend. Look into this. Command for Attribute Definition.
    What does that have to do with the annotative blocks?
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    I was under the impression text was to be added to a block. Is that not what annotation is?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,556

    Default

    What is "impression text"?

    The OP wants his/her blocks to plot the same size no matter what the viewport scale is set to. You can do this with Annotative Blocks. This has nothing to do with attributes.

    http://lynn.blogs.com/lynn_allens_bl...utocad_20.html

    http://www.thecadgeek.com/blog/2007/...ks-annotative/
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    FjÀrdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    annotations is text (as far as I understand the word anyway).

    Blocks/text can be annotative = changes size depending on the scale.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    What is "impression text"?
    HaHa!

    Sorry for the misinterpretation about annotative blocks. Just trying to help.
    Also take note the thread was not orignally about annotative blocks.
    By the that was your suggestion and attributes was mine. I am not trying
    to step on peoples toes. Since you are a moderator I would think you would
    understand this.
    Last edited by The Buzzard; 11th May 2009 at 02:13 pm.

Similar Threads

  1. Scaling C3D objects
    By Alioness in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2009, 10:01 pm
  2. Scaling Small Objects
    By the_dynam1te in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2008, 06:41 am
  3. I have a question about scaling objects.
    By bluetoast in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2008, 09:24 pm
  4. Control when scaling objects
    By missymoo27 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Aug 2007, 02:50 pm
  5. Scaling multiple objects question
    By alderney in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2007, 12:54 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts