+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Data Extraction

  1. #1
    Senior Member RyanAtNelco's Avatar
    Computer Details
    RyanAtNelco's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel Xenon
    RAM:
    6 gigs
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro 2260
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Burlington, MA
    Posts
    139

    Default Data Extraction

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I am having trouble figuring out how to extract data from mtext and inserting it into an excel workbook. I would like to use the data from fields i have that correspond to dimensions and have them automatically sent to certain cells in an excel spreadsheet that allows us to calculate the weight and center of gravity of a neutron door. I have no clue where to start - any info would be great.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You mention extracting data from both MText and from Fields. Which is it? If it is MTExt I'm not sure it could be done without the aid of a Lisp routine. Extracting data from a Field should be covered in AutoCAD Help.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member RyanAtNelco's Avatar
    Computer Details
    RyanAtNelco's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel Xenon
    RAM:
    6 gigs
    Graphics:
    ATI FirePro 2260
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Burlington, MA
    Posts
    139

    Default

    They are fields i have inserted into mtext

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    OK. Well that's a new one on me. I do not use Fields in my drawings but I'm familiar with their use in MS Access and other databases. AutoCAD Help doesn't cover extraction of this data when used in this manner?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    frankie's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    China
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Here are the basic steps:
    1. Choose to start a new extraction or modify an existing one
    2. Choose whether you want to include data from multiple drawings or just the current drawing. If you choose to extract data from multiple drawings, you can't choose objects in those drawings. You can add drawings individually, or add an entire folder. If you choose to extract only from the current drawing, you can then go back to the drawing and select objects.
    3. Then you choose which categories of data you want, and further refine the selection by choosing properties within those categories. You can extract 10 categories of data from objects, although not every drawing contains all 10 categories. These are:
    • 3D Visualization, including materials
    • Attributes
    • Drawing data, such as file name, file size, and more
    • Dynamic Blocks, meaning their properties
    • General, which means properties such as color, layer, etc.
    • Geometry, which includes X,Y coordinates, and other object-specific data
    • Misc, which includes block unit and closed/open status
    • Pattern, which means hatch pattern properties
    • Table, which is table properties
    • Text, which includes single or multiline text properties
    1. Next you refine the data. You can create formulas, specify data format, and more using the right-click shortcut menu. You can also sort columns and link to external data.
    2. On the next page, you choose whether you want to create a table, an external file, or both. You can create XLS, CSV, MDB, or TXT files.
    3. Finally, you place the table, specify the file name and location, or both. Here you see part of a table that includes drawing information from an entire folder of drawings.

Similar Threads

  1. Data Extraction ?? Help??
    By WCCSAM in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th Mar 2009, 09:26 pm
  2. Data extraction removal
    By deo06 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2009, 02:52 pm
  3. Extraction of data in CAD
    By Sudhir in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2009, 12:23 pm
  4. Data Extraction
    By Oasis in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2008, 04:37 am
  5. Data Extraction
    By tabletrouble in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2008, 11:22 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts