A few questions to get me started please.

grs

I'm totally new to Inventor version 5, I think its an older one now. I have had some use with AutoCAD 2002.

Just a few questions to get me started:

How do I setup snap settings, to grid, mid-point, end etc..?

I have some flat 2D work from AutoCAD, can I open these files in Inventor and

and work on them?

Is there a quick way of making gear wheel and pinons?

Thanks for moving the post, I just saw the Begingers section and though it was a generic CAD section.

I had a look at the tutorials which seem to be for a different version of the program, they also seem to require previous knowledge of the software so they don't seem cover the information I an after.

If I could access the snap setting I would be able to get started with.

Is there a way of typing in command rather than going to the menus the whole time - I don't mean short cuts.

I found how to bring in AutoCAD drawings.

Im sorry ive never used version 5 so Im not sure if the settings are the same. in 2007 version 11 was release, in 2008 they went to the year. The most current version is Inventor 2010.

The best thing for you to do is go to your Help menu and under the help topics you should either see getting started or Inventor Launchpad. They will start you out with a Getting Started pdf(about 350pages) that will answer everything you could want to know to get started.

Inventor sketch environment is not at all like autocad(even though things may seem similar to start). You start in a sketch, your sketches need to be dimensioned and constrained. If you dont start with a sound base, meaning if you dont properly sketch, you are going to be in for a big headache later, trust me:)