+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Semantic errors

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Salem, Oregon USA
    Posts
    49

    Default Semantic errors

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I opening a drawing using AutoCAD 2009 and a dialog box appears that says
    "Semantic errors(s) in DCL file ade.dcl.
    See file acad.dce for details"

    I looked into the "acad.dce" file and I see so much, I do not know what to fix and what not. Any help?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    From the CadGuruCool's Tip and Tricks website:

    < start quote here >

    When an error occurs in a DCL file, unlike AutoLISP, it is not displayed at the command: prompt in AutoCAD.

    Instead all the errors are written in a seperate file called ACAD.DCE You can find it in the current directory. But the ACAD.DCE file does not contain all the details by defalut.

    The Tip is : Include the following statement at the beginning of your DCL file:

    dcl_settings : defalut_dcl_settings {audit_level=3;}

    A value of 3 for the audit_level attribute ensures that the error is pinpointed with the line number, along with the nature of error and a few suggestions to rectify the mistake.

    < end of quote >
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic Lee Mac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Mac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit)
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Mac's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Custom Programming / Software Customisation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    16,919

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you could post ade.dcl, I'd be happy to look at it and see if I can find your error for you
    Lee Mac ProgrammingTwitterExchange App StoreDropbox (500MB free)

    With Mathematics there is the possibility of perfect rigour, so why settle for less?

Similar Threads

  1. Two errors
    By SAM_R in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st May 2009, 04:36 pm
  2. Errors with blocks!!!!
    By neekcotrack in forum MEP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th Nov 2008, 08:53 pm
  3. LISP for Errors...
    By Lee Mac in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2008, 06:14 pm
  4. file errors
    By DJB in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2008, 06:50 pm
  5. Profile errors
    By PaulR in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2007, 09:09 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts