+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 62
  1. #11
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Coosbaylumber View Post
    I have used the WinLine plotter driver. It will work on only "Certain" plotters, and those plotters have to be configured a certain way too. It will not work on just any plotter they have in their extensive list. 'course you do not find this out until you buy the driver and go through their trouble shooting guide. You can get into the software a certain distance in configuring, but once you "press the button" nothing then happens.


    Wm.
    As I said, I'd never used it but have had several recommend it. It did sound a little on the "too good to be true" side, though I do know that it works for Ioline plotters. Have a friend with one and Winline and loves it. I have an old Ioline LP 4000 but it's been in the storeroom for years. I keep threatening to download the trial version and give it a try. Thanks for the info.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kindergartenchats View Post
    Hi Jack, Thank you for the info on this. I believe (though I haven't purchased one yet) that the HP7475A 6-pen plotter uses an HP_IB interface. Any thoughts on how to connect this fella to a newer computer (we don't have serial ports - only USB ports). Many thanks!
    Welcome to CADTutor! Glad to have you aboard!

    Coosbaylumber had some suggestions on hooking that up. There are a number of ways. I think you can still get serial interface cards at places like Best Buy and Radio Shack. Tigerdirect may have them as well, or you can get USB to serial adapters at any of those places too. I have one here on the desk that I bought with the intention of resurrecting my old pen plotter, but just haven't gotten round to it yet so I don't know how well it will work. It plugs into the USB port and then has a serial connector to hook up old appliances. Package said it would "emulate" a serial port for older printers and other serial devices.

    Good luck with it and let us know how it turns out.

  3. #13
    Full Member kindergartenchats's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    new york, new york
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    Welcome to CADTutor! Glad to have you aboard!

    Coosbaylumber had some suggestions on hooking that up. There are a number of ways. I think you can still get serial interface cards at places like Best Buy and Radio Shack. Tigerdirect may have them as well, or you can get USB to serial adapters at any of those places too. I have one here on the desk that I bought with the intention of resurrecting my old pen plotter, but just haven't gotten round to it yet so I don't know how well it will work. It plugs into the USB port and then has a serial connector to hook up old appliances. Package said it would "emulate" a serial port for older printers and other serial devices.

    Good luck with it and let us know how it turns out.
    Hi Jack, Thank you for the info on the USB serial adapter. I was wondering, would you happen to know if HP's HB-IB interface will accept a standard RS-232 serial port connector? I've attached an image of an HB-IB port on an HP7470A 2-pen plotter. Do you think I would need a special HP cable for this type of plotter? Thanks again!
    Attached Images

  4. #14
    Full Member kindergartenchats's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    new york, new york
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Coosbaylumber View Post
    I went to a local electronic swap meet and got one of the common $1 special Serial port adapter boards made by SIIG. Plug it into a slot on mother board, the BIOS says wat is new? and then it recognised as a new add-on.

    Have a couple here, all with gold colored painting for serial, parallele, and USB ports. $1 each and SIIG still has information on how to configure and install them at their web-site. You need to know waht was "last Used" number of serial port. The board will assume the next number in routine, and Autocad will then ask as to which cord out the backside of your computer goes to what.

    Wm.
    Thank you Wm. Can a SIIG port adapter board (or something similar) be installed on a laptop or only on a computer with a tower? We're pretty much on laptops here. Best regards.

  5. #15
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kindergartenchats View Post
    Hi Jack, Thank you for the info on the USB serial adapter. I was wondering, would you happen to know if HP's HB-IB interface will accept a standard RS-232 serial port connector? I've attached an image of an HB-IB port on an HP7470A 2-pen plotter. Do you think I would need a special HP cable for this type of plotter? Thanks again!
    According to the document I found below, that interface requires an HP cable. Standard RS232 is listed as "option 1" and the HP-IB interface is "option 2".

    The part number for the cable is listed in the document. Look on page two, down near the bottom.

    http://www.buy17.com/HP/pdf/hp7475a.pdf

    Here's another you might look at too:
    http://www.hpmuseum.net/display_item.php?hw=73

  6. #16
    Full Member kindergartenchats's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    new york, new york
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    According to the document I found below, that interface requires an HP cable. Standard RS232 is listed as "option 1" and the HP-IB interface is "option 2".

    The part number for the cable is listed in the document. Look on page two, down near the bottom.
    Hi Jack, This is super helpful thank you. Do I have this right then - the HP7470A 2-pen plotter pictured above was ordered as an Option 2 plotter using a proprietary HP-IB cable vs Option 1 (an RS-232 cable)? I'm guessing that it would be better to find a plotter that uses a universal serial cable. Does this make sense? Would you have any recommendations for 11x17 pen plotters that might be an easier go to install (if I can't find an HP 'Option 1' plotter)? Many thanks!

  7. #17
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kindergartenchats View Post
    Hi Jack, This is super helpful thank you. Do I have this right then - the HP7470A 2-pen plotter pictured above was ordered as an Option 2 plotter using a proprietary HP-IB cable vs Option 1 (an RS-232 cable)? I'm guessing that it would be better to find a plotter that uses a universal serial cable. Does this make sense? Would you have any recommendations for 11x17 pen plotters that might be an easier go to install (if I can't find an HP 'Option 1' plotter)? Many thanks!
    Yes, you're right. I don't know much about the small plotters, the only ones I've ever worked with would do E-size sheets. Ioline, Mutoh, Calcomp, etc...

    There is an HP 7475A six pen plotter on Ebay right now though. Says it has the RS232 interface.

  8. #18
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    577

    Default

    Jack;


    I got one of the versions of Autocad that runs on HP language. Seems to me it did not load up first time. I had to put it ont some old 486 type os computer, then transferr the data to the other computer. Got the standard Set-up questions right after starting first time, but after that it worked OK on a M-S operating system. But, flat would not go all the way to completion in a HP language format. Stopped about 3/4 the way in, an went into some loop. But it was slow, but once installed onto the 486 it took off and ran good. Then transferred the program to anouther computer and it took of there too.

    I don't think that SIIG or anyone else makes and adapter for a installation board that works in a laptop computer. Each is too different. Now beware in using some adapter of USB to Serial. You need to tell computer to treat that USB port same as a serial then. Otherwise Acad will be sending plot info to a port that does not exist.


    Wm.

  9. #19
    Full Member kindergartenchats's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    new york, new york
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    Yes, you're right. I don't know much about the small plotters, the only ones I've ever worked with would do E-size sheets. Ioline, Mutoh, Calcomp, etc...

    There is an HP 7475A six pen plotter on Ebay right now though. Says it has the RS232 interface.
    Hi Jack, I purchased the HP 7475A (with an RS232 interface) that was listed on eBay. I figure it's worth a shot. I also sent an email to Vermes Technik to inquire about ink pens for this plotter (I found their contact info on the HP Museum web site, which notes that they still manufacture pens for all HP pen plotters - thank you for the link). I guess the next step is to purchase a USB to serial adaptor (I'm thinking about one from USB Gear) and to see if I can get this fella up and running using Autocad '06 and Windows XP. Many thanks again for your help!

  10. #20
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    577

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As mentioned earlier, you do know that even if you get it running, it will not be working any text other than some default type.


    Wm.

Similar Threads

  1. Plotters
    By WEHUNT in forum Catch All
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2009, 09:42 pm
  2. plotters
    By Kate_pw in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2007, 12:30 am
  3. PDF Plotters
    By Cymro in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th May 2007, 11:40 am
  4. Cad Plotters
    By Andrew Neal in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th May 2007, 02:19 am
  5. Plotters
    By Hoover in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd May 2007, 02:46 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts