Layer Properties Manager does not appear

JamesP

Hello,

I have never used a drafting package before - so I am a complete novice.

I appear to have set something by accident and can't find a way of getting the function back.

When I click on the Layer Properties button in the Layers section of the ribbon, the layers palette does not appear. Instead if I click in the main drawing area I get a table of options. If I then choose the "?" option and press enter I get what looks like a macro programme listing in the AutoCAD text window.

I can't find a way to get back to the Layers Palette.

I have also noticed that the Layer Properties button is larger than the other buttons in that section. Pressing it either switches on or off the drop down layers list. Hope this helps.

What have I done wrong?

Please help as this is preventing good progress on my learning curve.

• 1 month later...

Back in April I posted a question that did not elicit any replies. I still have the problem so here goes again… I hope this time someone can assist.

I appear to have set something by accident and can't find a way of getting the function back.

According to the help files and “AutoCAD for Dummies” When I click on the Layer Properties button in the Layers section of the ribbon, I would expect to get this…

new-2.jpg

I can get the Layer Properties Manager by using the CLASICLAYER command.

However the layers palette does not appear. Instead if I click in the main drawing area I get this…

new-1.jpg

If I then choose the "?" option and press enter I get this…

new-3.jpg

It looks like a macro programme listing in the AutoCAD text window.

What must I do to get the Layers Palette to appear when I press the Layer Properties button?

The same (or similar) thing happens when attempting to get the Dimensions Style Dialogue box.

I look forward to any proposals for correcting this.

Thanks,

Jim

Thanks for merging the thread - Don't know why I didn't add to the last one in the first place.