+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Everything is dark

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I followed Visualization: Basics of Rendering in AutoCAD 2009 from autodesk and when comparing my render to thiers mine is realy dark. I followed everything step by step, except on the manual performance tuneup. It says make sure Full Shadow Dispay is on, and I couldnt get mine to turn on. Is that why all my renders are dark or am i missing something else completely?
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Check the section about enabling sky background with illumination. I think it is on page 21 if you printed the material out.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    the only thing i did different there was the date it wouldnt let me go back past jan 2009
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  4. #4
    Full Member Dorian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dorian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Motherboard:
    Gigabye Z68AP-D3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 2600K 3.4 Ghz
    RAM:
    16GB ram
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD7750
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi 320Gb
    Monitor:
    Acer P221w 22"
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dorian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    interior designer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max 2012
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Macedonia
    Posts
    62

    Default

    post some settings, and the render, is everything dark? or something is visible.
    I had similar problems, so maybe i can help.

  5. #5
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    ive attached the dwg. This is my second real attempt at a render i just followed the instructions. My first one was really dark too thats why i found the tutorial to see what i was doing wrong
    Attached Files
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  6. #6
    Super Member CADMASTER1128's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADMASTER1128's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10, 64 - BIT OS
    Computer:
    Lenovo Y50
    CPU:
    Intel Coreā„¢ i7-4710HQ @ 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB DDR3L
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Grapghics 4600 and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M + 3GB Video Memory
    Primary Storage:
    1TB + 8GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    WD MyCloud External - 2TB
    Monitor:
    15.6''
    Discipline
    Construction
    CADMASTER1128's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Badger Construction
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Shell Builds, Remodels, Custom Homes
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    717

    Default

    I'm no expert, but your "sun" is facing the wrong way.
    Using: AutoCAD 2015 (Vanilla)

    Tampa Bay Tech High School - Academy Of Architecture

    www.BadgerConstruction.com

  7. #7
    Full Member Dorian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dorian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Motherboard:
    Gigabye Z68AP-D3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 2600K 3.4 Ghz
    RAM:
    16GB ram
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD7750
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi 320Gb
    Monitor:
    Acer P221w 22"
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dorian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    interior designer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max 2012
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Macedonia
    Posts
    62

    Default

    I guess what you got is on the first pic.

    And the second one is with some changed settings.
    Attached Images

  8. #8
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    what settings did you change? was my sun really facing the wrong way? i feel like a dork now!
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  9. #9
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    the one i got was much darker then your first one, now it wants to crash my autocad if i can get it working ill post a screen shot of what it looks like
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  10. #10
    Full Member Dorian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dorian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Motherboard:
    Gigabye Z68AP-D3
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 2600K 3.4 Ghz
    RAM:
    16GB ram
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD7750
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB
    Secondary Storage:
    Hitachi 320Gb
    Monitor:
    Acer P221w 22"
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dorian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    interior designer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max 2012
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Macedonia
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by chelsea1307 View Post
    what settings did you change? was my sun really facing the wrong way? i feel like a dork now!

    The sun is ok. You should turn Glonbal illumination ON, and Final Gather ON.
    Try that and post what you get.

Similar Threads

  1. Renders are too dark
    By Dorian in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th May 2009, 02:31 pm
  2. Dark Render
    By bagulhodoido in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th Dec 2008, 11:26 am
  3. Lee, Welcome to the Dark Side
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Nov 2007, 01:50 am
  4. How do I get lines to print dark?
    By rskovira in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Dec 2005, 05:16 pm
  5. dark shadow
    By BEKA in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2005, 12:48 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts