+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    101

    Default Create a shape file

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    Is it possible to create shape files (.shp) of objects that I've drawn in AutoCAD for users of GIS software to import? Such as a site boundary?

    Thanks,

    Alex

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    I'm only aware of shape files as they pertain to fonts in AutoCAD and not to objects. Why not use blocks?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity NBC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    2,109

    Default

    Sounds like a job for AutoCAD Map to be honest
    Life's constantly changing - keep up or get left behind

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Thanks both.

    Quote Originally Posted by NBC View Post
    Sounds like a job for AutoCAD Map to be honest
    I was wondering that.

    There are two situations I've been asked for one. Firstly by a GIS user. They wanted to import some of the objects I'd drawn, but they were able to use a dxf in the end.

    The other is for ordering aerial photos online. With the website I've been using, you can load up a .shp file of the site boundary, and they'll provide an aerial photo to match. Not essential, but might be quite handy if it was easy to do.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    5,363

    Default

    Just to clarify the generic SHP file used by Autocad is different to shp used by GIS to confuse totally Autocad map reads and writes GIS shape files these can contain an immense amount of info bit like a DXF, where as the autocad SHP is normally a definition of pen strokes to create text or object.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Thanks Bigal!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-4770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,920

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Alex View Post
    Hi,

    Is it possible to create shape files (.shp) of objects that I've drawn in AutoCAD for users of GIS software to import? Such as a site boundary?
    You will need AutoCAD Map or some other add-on.
    If you just have vanilla AutoCAD, www.dotsoft.com makes an inexpensive import/export tool. See http://www.dotsoft.com/shapeio.htm for more info. [Not affiliated, just a satisfied user... :-) ]
    Last edited by rkmcswain; 17th Jun 2009 at 01:21 pm. Reason: disclaimer

  8. #8
    Super Member chulse's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chulse's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Lenovo W701 mobile workstation
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800M
    Monitor:
    17" wide screen laptop w/ 22" acer
    Discipline
    See details...
    chulse's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Conservation Planner/Arborist
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tree Preservation Planning for civil design and developent
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Front Royal, Virginia
    Posts
    1,313

    Default

    If the GIS user is using ESRI ArcGIS, it can improt DWG files directly and convert them to SHP files.

    I cannot speak for the other GIS programs though...
    Cary Hulse
    Conservation Planner
    www.TreePreservationPlan.com
    www.Pack53.info

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    You will need AutoCAD Map or some other add-on.
    If you just have vanilla AutoCAD, www.dotsoft.com makes an inexpensive import/export tool. See http://www.dotsoft.com/shapeio.htm for more info. [Not affiliated, just a satisfied user... :-) ]
    Nice one, thanks

Similar Threads

  1. How would i create this shape?
    By cameroon95 in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th May 2009, 02:51 pm
  2. Lisp to create custom shape
    By CraneGuy in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 10:15 am
  3. create a shape linetype (--GAS--)
    By raj banerjee in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2008, 06:02 pm
  4. how to create oval shape dome?
    By al_farooq in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2007, 12:13 am
  5. How do I create an 2D oblong spiral shape?
    By MK1 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 1st Apr 2006, 11:00 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts