+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5640 @ 2.67ghz, 2.67ghz
    RAM:
    3.62 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro NVS 420
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    2 X Acer AL2216W Monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    152

    Default Can autocad automatically create detail views?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Usually what I do is this.

    1. draw a circle around the area I want to show the detail of.
    2. draw a larger circle for the detail view.
    3. Convert the larger circle to a viewport.
    4. locate the viewport over the area I want to show in the detail and scale the viewport to the standard scale i want.
    5. draw a line to connect the 2 circles.
    6. label the detail view how I want and add all applicable dimensions and callouts in paper space over the detailed content.

    I always make sure that the smaller circle signifying the detailed area of the layout is directly proportional to the larger one and how it lines up with the rest of the drawing (so that it looks pretty).

    But this is more or less a manual way of setting up a simple detail view.

    Is there any way autocad can automatically create a detail view like the one I use so that I don't have to do it all manually each time? I've searched in the autocad help menu but there isn't anything coming up under "detail", "detail view", or "drawing detail". I don't think there is but I thought i would ask. Thanks!

    -ChriS

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-4770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,936

    Default

    Nothing automatic in AutoCAD.

    This is what I have done before. It looks pretty similar to what you are doing.
    http://cadpanacea.com/node/10

    I think we may have even automated this with lisp.

  3. #3
    Super Member CADMASTER1128's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADMASTER1128's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1, 64 - BIT OS
    Computer:
    Lenovo Y50
    CPU:
    Intel Coreā„¢ i7-4710HQ @ 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB DDR3L
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M + 3GB Video Memory
    Primary Storage:
    1TB + 8GB SSD
    Monitor:
    15.6''
    Discipline
    Structural
    CADMASTER1128's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    YBC Bridge Designer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Timber Bridges
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    700

    Default

    Not details, But I am able to create wall sections in AutoCAD Architecture 2008
    Using: AutoCAD 2013 (Vanilla)

    Tampa Bay Tech High School - Academy Of Architecture

    www.ybc.com

  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,541

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ammobake View Post
    Is there any way autocad can automatically create a detail view like the one I use so that I don't have to do it all manually each time?

    Autodesk Inventor
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  5. #5
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    712

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    Autodesk Inventor
    LOL now that was funny.
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,781

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    Autodesk Inventor
    What's so funny?

    Need detail.
    Stop work.
    Call authorized reseller.
    Get price quote.
    Go see boss.
    Try to convince boss to spend $$$$ for Inventor.
    Boss laughs then asks, "In this economy? What are you, nuts?"
    Try again.
    Boss snickers.
    Try yet a third time.
    Boss's ears start spouting steam. Face turns red.
    Smile meeky. Shrugs. "Well?"
    Boss's reply: "Get back to work or pack up your stuff."
    One last try. "Can I get another $$$$ for training and the time off as well?"
    Boss points at door. "OUT!"
    One very last attempt. "Is that a definite no?"
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    712

    Default

    Anyone else notice that ammobake's avatar looks like the face of a mouse? (I'm not picking on you Chris)

    Actually, I've got a lisp program that does essentially what you want but it does not create a circular viewport, just scaled objects in model space. I can share it if you like, however it might require a support file that I use.
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  8. #8
    Senior Member JoeC's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    180

    Default

    If you don't want to purchase Autodesk Inventor, Autocad Mechanical has a nice detail command...all automatic! Its ONLY money!

  9. #9
    Full Member MFish's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MFish's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell
    RAM:
    4GB
    Monitor:
    19" Dell
    Using
    Electrical 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    38

    Default

    The new AutoCAD Mechanical 2010 has a new Automatic detail feature. It works very smoothly and easily. It might be cheaper than upgrading fully to Inventor

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    Revit 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think Revit can do something on that end.

Similar Threads

  1. How can I load blocks automatically into autocad ?
    By ajlouni in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th May 2007, 12:51 am
  2. need help on adding/drawing detail views
    By BBB in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2006, 07:57 pm
  3. Detail Sheets in AutoCAD
    By draftingsaycore in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2005, 06:31 pm
  4. Automatically generating 3rd angle views of 3d solid
    By JohnBob in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2005, 07:00 am
  5. Converting T/F/S views to create 3D object
    By speedy3020 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16th Feb 2005, 11:34 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts