+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    91

    Default Labeling column grid lines

    Not actually an AutoCAD tech question...Is there a rule of thumb for labeling column lines? For example, is it always alphabetical in the horizontal position and numerical in the vertical...or is it drafter's choice?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,447

    Default

    The book Architectural Design and Drafting, 5th edition (page 885) suggests that numbers be used to define grids top to bottom and consecutive letters be used to define the grids left to right. What's funny is the example shown on the preceeding page has it just the opposite. The letters define the top to bottom grid with "A" at the very top then running consecutively towards the bottom of the sheet. Go figure.

    I guess then it can be either. It must depend on individual office standards?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    on seldom occasions when a grid side exceeds 26 column lines, thats where I use numbers so I wont have to start a new set with A', B', C' or AA, BB,CC.
    but for those that dont exceed, it would have to depend of either Company standards or standards of the building official in your locality(if there are any)
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    my question is i want to bring all text in one line i.e align the text in left corner .what is the procedure for doing aligning the text.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,447

    Default

    shafi4u:

    Normally one will post a new question as a separate thread rather than add it to an existing thread. You'll get more responses targeted to your question this way. The responses will be quicker too.

    Where are you bringing "all text in one line" from? Are you attempting to do a cut and paste between drawings? What is it that you are aligning the text to? An object in the drawing itself or relative to the lower left corner of the sheet? Is this a single line of text or multiple lines? The more detail you provide the better we will be able to help you.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #6
    Full Member Danse_Macabre's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by shafi4u View Post
    my question is i want to bring all text in one line i.e align the text in left corner .what is the procedure for doing aligning the text.
    I am assuming you have multiple lines of TEXT that you want to align to the left side?

    Personally I would use Express -> Text -> Convert to Mtext. Select all the individual lines of text you want. This will turn multiple lines of text into one box of text that you can edit together. Then in the Mtext editor you can align multiple lines to one side.

Similar Threads

  1. Grid lines not matching up on multiple XREFS
    By spittle in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2009, 01:22 pm
  2. facing problem creating grid lines in revit
    By nihar in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2008, 02:31 pm
  3. Autolisp program to generate grid lines
    By skipo4us in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2008, 07:49 pm
  4. Grid lines displayed instead of Grid Dots
    By aka_norm in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2007, 08:08 am
  5. Show grid Lines??
    By puzzled in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2006, 03:57 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts