+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member Manic_d's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    62

    AutoCAD Model/Paper Space - I still don't Geddit

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi


    As the title suggests I still don’t understand the concept of Model/Paper space. Previously I have used Vectorworks and when starting a project I first set up the paper size and also the Scale I’m going to work in. I'd like to do the same in AutoCAD but I’m not sure how.

    Kind Regards,


    Manic

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Alnaibii's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    HP xw4400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 6600@2.4GHz
    RAM:
    2GB
    Graphics:
    ATI Fire GL V7200
    Monitor:
    HP LP2065
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bucharest, RO
    Posts
    47

    Default

    to quickly summarise: in modelspace you draw what you need in real scale (mm, cm, in - you choose).
    in paperspace you set up the page dimensions and insert your model at the scale you want.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,442

    Default

    I think a slight correction to the above post is in order. You don't insert your model at scale rather you create viewports that allow you to see back into model space. It is the viewports that are then "scaled". Anything drawn in paper space, like your titleblock and border, are drawn 1:1.

    I've heard it put this way. Look at an object like a car for instance. Now take a sheet of paper and cut a rectangular hole in it. Now try looking at the car through the hole in the paper. To get the whole car to appear in that hole (viewport) you'll have to back up a few paces. The car appears to be getting smaller (scaling down) yet we know it is still full size. Has the paper size changed? No, it hasn't. In this example, the car is in model space and the sheet of paper is equivalent to paper space. Hope this helps.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Senior Member StevenMc's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I think a slight correction to the above post is in order. You don't insert your model at scale rather you create viewports that allow you to see back into model space. It is the viewports that are then "scaled". Anything drawn in paper space, like your titleblock and border, are drawn 1:1.

    I've heard it put this way. Look at an object like a car for instance. Now take a sheet of paper and cut a rectangular hole in it. Now try looking at the car through the hole in the paper. To get the whole car to appear in that hole (viewport) you'll have to back up a few paces. The car appears to be getting smaller (scaling down) yet we know it is still full size. Has the paper size changed? No, it hasn't. In this example, the car is in model space and the sheet of paper is equivalent to paper space. Hope this helps.
    Great way of putting it ReMark! although i know what they are i've never had it put like that. This would be a great help for beginners and it would be a lot easier describing it this way
    "Leave it on the doorstep and get the hell outta here!"

  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,535

    Default

    To add a bit to Remarks description -

    If you are old enough to remember back to the drawing board days we used to get preprinted borders on sheets of a certain size (or laboriously draw them each time).

    Paperspace is the replacement of these preprinted sheets. You can predefine your borders, titleblocks and sheet sizes. Do it once and forget it. Done. A sheet of paper is a sheet of paper 1:1 size. It is what it is. Real world. No calculations needed.

    On the drawing board we would have to use a scale to layout our views that would not otherwise fit on the sheet of paper. A lot of scaling, a lot of chances for errors.

    Now in CAD we model at 1:1 in modelspace. No calculations of scale. The size of paper that will be used is of no concern at this point. Irrelevant. Don't care. The model is what it is. Real world 1:1 When it comes to doing our layout (fitting the model to the appropriate sheet size) there is one calculation of scale (and the computer does it for us, and really we are not scaling anything - not changing the sizes, only how close or far we view something through our paperspace window into modelspace). And if we decide to change scale or sheet sizes or move views around - all seamless and the model doesn't change.

    I used CAD (various programs) for about 7 years before I caught on to paperspace/modelspace. Before that I was constantly doing calculations for borders drawn in modelspace. (At least I always did the model 1:1 since switching from the drawing board to CAD). Boarder in modelspace is wrong method - too much work. Some will argue that both methods are acceptable. They are wrong.
    Last edited by JD Mather; 24th Jul 2009 at 01:20 pm.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,073
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Super Member Ritch7's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Norfolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    552

    Default

    Basically to put it in simple mans terms:

    Model space is for viewing,orbiting, in depth editing and is where you should actually draw whatever it is your doing.

    Paperspace is for mainly printing/scale purposes, and to see what you have actually drawn looks like on the required paper size you have chosen and most importantly to scale ie. 1:1.. etc, but of course you can also still edit in paperspace aswell!

    That's my take anyway.
    Last edited by Ritch7; 24th Jul 2009 at 03:07 pm. Reason: Better

  8. #8
    Full Member Manic_d's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Thanks for all the replies I haven’t the time to read them all now but I will study the comments and try to understand what has been said once I get home from work.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,442

    Default

    Good idea. If you have any follow-up questions then just ask away. We'll do our best to answer them.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by StevenMc View Post
    Great way of putting it ReMark! although i know what they are i've never had it put like that. This would be a great help for beginners and it would be a lot easier describing it this way

    I agree 100% ... Good job ReMark!!

Similar Threads

  1. Bring Paper Space object through Viewport into Model Space
    By karenreeves in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2011, 08:58 pm
  2. LTSCALE - Model Space/Paper Space Differences and problems
    By Fedge in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2011, 02:33 pm
  3. AcadPViewport2 - Deleting items in model space that aren't seen inside paper space
    By lovemy65stang in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 05:26 am
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2007, 10:20 pm
  5. shortcut to toggle model space to paper space
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2006, 05:58 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts