+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default ducts drawing problem

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    how to draw the offset of a duct? if my duct goes to one way and then has to offset 90 degree. what is the radius should the round connection be?

    Did anybody have any example?

  2. #2
    Super Member mdbdesign's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mdbdesign's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 U 32 BIT, WIN10 PRO 64 bit
    Computer:
    Homemade
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE G31M-ES2L
    CPU:
    INTEL CORE 2-QUAD-Q6600@2.4GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 gt 1gb
    Primary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL SSD 1TB
    Monitor:
    2 - 22" HP + 24" Dell
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    mdbdesign's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designing Engineer in Engineering Department
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Pressure tanks Oil processing & storage equip. Steel mill equip. Telecom towers & equip. Wind turbine towers Power plant structures Structural and miscellaneous steel etc.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Courtice, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    855

    Default

    2 x dia of duct???

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdbdesign View Post
    2 x dia of duct???

    what about if I want to connect a branch duct to a main duct which is bigger than the branch duct

  4. #4
    Super Member mdbdesign's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mdbdesign's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 U 32 BIT, WIN10 PRO 64 bit
    Computer:
    Homemade
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE G31M-ES2L
    CPU:
    INTEL CORE 2-QUAD-Q6600@2.4GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 gt 1gb
    Primary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL SSD 1TB
    Monitor:
    2 - 22" HP + 24" Dell
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    mdbdesign's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designing Engineer in Engineering Department
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Pressure tanks Oil processing & storage equip. Steel mill equip. Telecom towers & equip. Wind turbine towers Power plant structures Structural and miscellaneous steel etc.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Courtice, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    855

    Default

    Use reduction or something like on picture
    Attached Images
    Last edited by mdbdesign; 12th Aug 2009 at 06:53 pm. Reason: OR added

  5. #5
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    no need to reduce your main to branch off with something smaller.
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  6. #6
    Super Member CADMASTER1128's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADMASTER1128's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10, 64 - BIT OS
    Computer:
    Lenovo Y50
    CPU:
    Intel Core™ i7-4710HQ @ 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB DDR3L
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Grapghics 4600 and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M + 3GB Video Memory
    Primary Storage:
    1TB + 8GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    WD MyCloud External - 2TB
    Monitor:
    15.6''
    Discipline
    Construction
    CADMASTER1128's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Badger Construction
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Shell Builds, Remodels, Custom Homes
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    717

    Default

    I don't know if this will help, but this is how I draw my HVAC ducts.

    Drawing organically drawn by StykFace.
    Attached Images
    Using: AutoCAD 2015 (Vanilla)

    Tampa Bay Tech High School - Academy Of Architecture

    www.BadgerConstruction.com

  7. #7
    Super Member mdbdesign's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mdbdesign's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 U 32 BIT, WIN10 PRO 64 bit
    Computer:
    Homemade
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE G31M-ES2L
    CPU:
    INTEL CORE 2-QUAD-Q6600@2.4GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 9800 gt 1gb
    Primary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL 500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    WESTERN DIGITAL SSD 1TB
    Monitor:
    2 - 22" HP + 24" Dell
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    mdbdesign's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designing Engineer in Engineering Department
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Pressure tanks Oil processing & storage equip. Steel mill equip. Telecom towers & equip. Wind turbine towers Power plant structures Structural and miscellaneous steel etc.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Courtice, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    855

    Default

    ...or something like this:
    (just learn how to add picture:-))) )
    Attached Images

  8. #8
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    learn something new everyday, ive never seen branch off a reducer
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,057

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chelsea1307 View Post
    learn something new everyday, ive never seen branch off a reducer
    This is very common in the HVAC industry. Granted its a custom fitting that usually costs more which can drive up bid price, but for very widely used sizes, this is definitely common.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,057

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ke_ch View Post
    what about if I want to connect a branch duct to a main duct which is bigger than the branch duct
    Are you using MEP or plain AutoCAD?
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Attached: VBA application for drawing ducts and pipes
    By Joro-- in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 12th May 2016, 02:11 am
  2. Crossing ducts not showing hidden in plots
    By chelsea1307 in forum MEP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Mar 2009, 09:11 pm
  3. problem opening drawing with .net
    By frostrap in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2008, 10:13 am
  4. How to make round to sqaure ducts?
    By mpas in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th Aug 2007, 01:34 am
  5. Mechanical drawing problem
    By salmoon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2006, 10:00 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts