+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Extrude is a term used in 3D. Extruding an object gives it height.

    I'm not familiar with Gear Factory 6 but I'm pretty sure I saw a lisp routine somewhere that somewhat automates the process of drawing a gear.

    Is GF6 an add-on to AutoCAD?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  2. #12
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ok, thanks for that. Do you think I should live that "Gear Factory" alone?

    Remark: cwattsdesign.com/gearfactory.htm

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Gear Factory 6 is compatibile with AutoCAD. And it seems rather inexpensive too. What version AutoCAD are you using?

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Science...-Factory.shtml
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  4. #14
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    another thing to consider is how often will you be drawing these gears? If its just this once, i would just create it with autocad if its something you will be doing multiple times a day/week then you might want to get the program
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  5. #15
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    found a free lisp to draw gears at http://www.cadmonkey.com/lisp.htm find the gear.zip and download it will be 2d but then you can extrude to 3d, and its free
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    You can download gear.lsp from here. It's for 2D. You'd have to do the rest yourself to get a 3D solid from it.

    http://www.beowolftech.com/lispgen/examples.html
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #17
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ok, Thanks again. I will look into this more tomorrow and I will post how it goes.

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Sorry Chelsea. Didn't mean to step on your toes (or fingers). Bit of a time lag for some reason today on my part.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  9. #19
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    not a problem, you usually beat me (and most people) to the answer
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  10. #20
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Dray one tooth and then type AR and ENTER . In the array box select POLAR and type 360 degrees and select the gear ,and then you need to select the center of the rotation so a circle drawn already and the gear positioned on that circle will help ,then AutoCAD draws them all for you . You may need a couple attempts to get the alingment correct. Then use the EXT command (extrude)and select the gear and it will prompt for Height which refers to the thickness of the sprocket or gear and turns it into a 3D solid.
    Hope that helps.

Similar Threads

  1. how to draw a spur gear in AutoCAD 2004
    By freaker2005 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2014, 02:25 pm
  2. Making a gear
    By NaeKid in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th Apr 2009, 01:47 am
  3. gear help
    By bolton78 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2008, 10:08 pm
  4. how do i draw a gear
    By alain in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2006, 10:21 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts