+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5

    Question How To Install Custom Hatch Patterns Within Acad-2010?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Dear Friends, I Live in South Baja Mexico (Mexi-Born), and recently installed Acad R2010 and I need to install new custom hatches but don't know how.... I got working with Autocad since 1990; probably it was R2.0. This is the first time that I try to do it, so I don´t want to mess the whole thing misplacing my .pat files. I´ll appreciate your support... best regards from Hurricane Jimena... hiting the baja peninsula right now...

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    You could create your own .pat file (ex. - mycustomhatch.pat) and make sure to add the location to it in the Support File Search Path.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the idea but I think it won´t work that way fo me... I just wanna to do it the easy way... cut the *.pat files from the extracted folder and paste them into the file inside Acad where they supose to go... Isn´t that way easier... So I must understand that they go then inside the support file? Is that what´re you trying to tell me? Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Before adding your custom hatch patterns to acad.pat make a copy of the file and store it in another folder (as insurance).

    To find out which file has to be editted type the following at the command line (exactly as you see it):

    (findfile"acad.pat")

    AutoCAD will return the path to the acad.pat file it uses. Since you are using AutoCAD's own hatch pattern file (only modifying it) you won't have to do anything as far as the Support File Search Path goes.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Honestly, I think you should create your own hatch pattern file. Put the file in the same location as the acad.pat file AutoCAD uses. When it comes time that you want to use a pattern from this file, in the Hatch and Gradient dialog box, under the heading Type and Pattern, select Custom from the drop-down list. Opposite the text Custom Pattern use the browse key to locate the file you created.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Done! Thanks For The Support.... It Worked That Way! Great!

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    You're entirely welcomed. Shouldn't you be getting to higher ground? Isn't there a Category 2 hurricane approaching? Don't get wet!
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    i´m already working with my new hatch album and finally I´ll have too may options to work with.... now I can use Stone like hatches and bricks... I´m happy like a child with a cotton candy.... thanks Remark for you support... I got several years working with autocad and never done this... and I´m tottaly new with Autocad 2010.... and as The Police said... "have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college"

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Well actually a live right in the middle peninsula where the big salt flats are located and wehre the gray whales gather on winter time and if you go to the NOAA web site and search on the pacific hurricane forecast you´ll se where it´s going to hit... Guerrero Negro is on the path of this *****. right now we have some rain and wind... pray for me...lol. I´ll keep you informed... and thanks again for you support.. by the way I got my fridge full of beer....just in case!

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    God loves a man who is well prepared. Stay safe amigo.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Creating custom hatch patterns
    By AutoCAD Tips Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2009, 02:27 pm
  2. Install New Hatch Patterns
    By Shibuboss in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2009, 01:52 pm
  3. how do you create custom hatch patterns
    By MikeP in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2009, 10:04 pm
  4. Some hatch patterns won't install
    By fostertom in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2008, 08:20 am
  5. Custom Hatch Patterns
    By ColinDJarvis in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8th May 2008, 01:50 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts