+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Arrow Help needed (sketching a boiler room)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just wonderd if i could get some tips, I work for a building services company (of 2 weeks) we install boiler rooms etc...

    tommorow im being sent to draw a boiler schematic, to then draw up in CAD, I have never been out to site to draw one up on my own before i have just received the sketches off engineers.

    Could anyone give me any tips on how to sketch an isometric i am quite worried i might get it wrong as ive never done one before, the engineer was going to come out with me and help me on my first few but hes busy and says it should be a doddle

  2. #2
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W3670 (Six Core 3.2GHz, 12MB Cache)
    RAM:
    12 Gb Ram (3x4GB) DDR3
    Graphics:
    2GB NviDia Quadro 4000
    Monitor:
    Dual screen - BenQ G2020HD 21"
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    995

    Default

    I cant give you any specific ways of doing it because iv'e never dome it myself.

    My best tip for you though would be to take a camera and as many photo's as possible. Trust me. when I goto site to measure a stair, thats the 1st thing in my bag.
    Steven Smith


    Formally, Solidworks | Soon to be AutoCAD & Pro Engineer

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stevsmith View Post
    I cant give you any specific ways of doing it because iv'e never dome it myself.

    My best tip for you though would be to take a camera and as many photo's as possible. Trust me. when I goto site to measure a stair, thats the 1st thing in my bag.
    Oh yes i will definatley be taking my camera, im going to take a movie clip with it to

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Is there any Mechanical building services CAD people on here who have done this before who could help me out

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Glen Smith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win XP
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS 1645
    CPU:
    Intel i7 Q720 @ 1.6Ghz
    RAM:
    8 Gig
    Using
    Electrical 2010
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Cary, NC
    Posts
    418

    Default

    Remember all those measurements that you wish the engineer made and wrote down on the sketches that they gave you? Those will be the ones that you will get. The one that you forget will be the obvious one.

    Since you aren't going untill tommorow, you (hopefully) will have some time today to plan it. Write down some notes while looking at previous drawings that you have done. Create a generic worksheet with blanks for the obvious dimensions. If there is one thing that your Engineers consistently forget to record, add that to your sheet. If you play your cards right, you may even be able to get your Engineers to adopt your measurement worksheet so all the future sketches come back to you in a more standard format thus reducing your drawing time and stress levels.

    If you continue to do site visits, update the sheet with what you forgot on this one. The more you do, the more complete you worksheet will be. Naturally, once you get it to the point where it is perfect - you won't need it anymore.

    Good luck, the first one is always the most worrisome.

    Glen
    “Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something." Lazarus Long in Time Enough For Love

  6. #6
    Super Member skipsophrenic's Avatar
    Computer Details
    skipsophrenic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Vista 32 bit
    Computer:
    Compaq
    Motherboard:
    erm . . yeah?
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2140 @ 1.60 Ghz
    RAM:
    2039MB
    Graphics:
    don't ask you'll kill me
    Primary Storage:
    360gb
    Monitor:
    21" widescren - 16:10 ratio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    When you take your photo's always have some way of Knowing this size of the
    object your taking a picture of.

    Whenever i'm asked to draw a bridge (work in rail structures) i KNOW the briks in
    that are 225mm deep, with a 5mm all round of mortar, so all i do is "Count the
    bricks.

    See if theres anything like that you can use with your photo's.

    Also take plenty of paper and mak your own sketches of the room/layout etc.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. - Albert Einstein

    SET FILEDIA = 1

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    I dont know if i forgot to say its only a 2D schematic so wont be anything to measure as such, but still I have never done this on my own before.

    Drawing bridges sounds cool BTW, bet that is hard!!

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Scott W's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP laptop & Dell work st.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sheppey, Kent. ENGLAND
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick-H- View Post
    I dont know if i forgot to say its only a 2D schematic so wont be anything to measure as such, but still I have never done this on my own before.

    Drawing bridges sounds cool BTW, bet that is hard!!
    Well at the end of the day, your ability to understand working systems and their depencies on one another is mainly of importance. If you cannot understand the system you are drawing you have a large problem, this is where just knowing CAD is not sufficient in all draughting job roles.
    If this is your first task and your being left to your own devices, i suggest you give it your best shot without worrying to much about it.
    As mentioned above, you will learn from the experience, its the best tutor of them all!

    Good luck!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    here is one from a previous job which was done by someone else

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I started work with company that does similar drawings and i had no experience of it either, if you have no drawn an isometric sketch before i would suggest using the drawing view 'sw isometric' makes it pretty easy for oyu once you know the layout of the boiler room....

Similar Threads

  1. Sketching an image
    By jeffd24 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th Apr 2009, 05:14 am
  2. Boiler house lighting
    By DJMDesign in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 30th Mar 2009, 08:51 pm
  3. Sketching paper
    By nexus6 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2007, 04:03 pm
  4. Sketching using a digitizer in autocad...
    By sloth_mcgroth in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2005, 01:59 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts