2D vs 3D in Civil Engineering

derek

I was just wondering if plain old 2D draughting methods were still the most popular choice within the civil engineering industry. With 3D modelling being heavily promoted throughout autodesk's products particularly civils 3d, it would seem there is a movement toward the advantages of real world draughting with all the bells and whistles of the Civils design package.

So:

Do you still work with the tried and tested methods of 2D draughting, getting the job done with the minimal fuss and quick editing abilities?

or

Do you draw mostly in 3 dimensions adding to initial workload and re-design but enjoying the benefits of only drawing things once?

Thanks I'd be interested in all responses on this matter, I have nearly 10 years experience of both 2D and 3D draughting and my current thoughts are along the lines of 2D for shop drawings and rapid changes. 3D for specialized design modelling or presentation.

I work on an AWFULL lot of grading plans and maps. Whole thing with 3D is that is supposed to be sensitive to elevation, but if you work on flat landed items the 3D is jsut a waste of time as you cannot see the difference in elevations. Therefore have worked in 2D for a few decades and will continue to do so. You print and hand off a flat paper drawing, so why not think in flat dimensions too.

Also all deeds are written in flat 2D manner, no matter if natural ground has a significant slope or not.

We read about this 2D versus 3D designs many times, but has not shown up the value yet. Is nice to show a customer how a new house will fit onto a lot though.

Wm.