+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008

Default How To Add Dimensions To a Drawing?

Registered forum members do not see this ad.

I'm a total newbie and totally flummoxed by the help screens of AutoCad.

I've had some help from members on this forum and I've drawn a four sided figure which has accurate dimensions, lengths and angles, for a building block.

So then I move onto adding the dimensions and I do the best I can to follow the help screens. All they seem to do is extoll or list the wonderful things you can do without ever telling you how to do them.

So I stumbled along and created dimensions, on the Layout views as they suggested.

Now the dimension of the line I drew was 28.74metres.
    Layout one gave me a dimension of 4.8676 metres.
    Layout two gave me a dimension of 2.4422 metres.

What is wrong with this program?

Can anyone help me with this? How can I get the thing to display the lengths it already took in and drew?

regards,

ab

p.s. I'm pretty sure I'm setup for metres and that's what I inputted. But the output, being obviously different, could be in anything from feet and inches to

Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details