+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Startup Cost

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    545

    Default Startup Cost

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    A friend wants to get into AutoCad. Can anyone tell me the initial cost of AutoCad. The LT version would probably suite him fine.
    I know upgrades are around $400, but how much for the first license?
    Thanks
    Glenn
    USA

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Glen Smith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win XP
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS 1645
    CPU:
    Intel i7 Q720 @ 1.6Ghz
    RAM:
    8 Gig
    Using
    Electrical 2010
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Cary, NC
    Posts
    418
    “Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something." Lazarus Long in Time Enough For Love

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    545

    Default

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,796

    Default

    You might find a deal on eBay or Amazon, an older version of AutoCAD.
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tankman View Post
    You might find a deal on eBay or Amazon, an older version of AutoCAD.
    Be forewarned. If you buy a version of AutoCAD that requires an authorization code for licensing purposes AutoDesk may, per its EULA, may decide to deny you a code. In that case you have purchased a very expensive beer coaster.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Another alternative, if you are not 100% tied to using AutoCAD, is to take a look at Bricscad.

    www.bricsys.com

    You'll find it to be similar to AutoCAD and much cheaper.

    Download and read the free eBook (PDF format) that compares Bricscad to AutoCAD available at their website.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    545

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks all.

Similar Threads

  1. Cost of plotting
    By cadfly in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2008, 12:48 am
  2. Cost frustration
    By mike06 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2007, 03:14 pm
  3. Inventor Cost
    By cidchase in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st May 2006, 10:00 pm
  4. cost/quantity measuremment
    By oksng in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2004, 04:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts