+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Creating a "template" or border with drawing title etc on (Title Blocks....)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Peeps

    I am drawing some house plans for some alterations to my house. At the minute, every time I plot it obviously just prints what I have drawn. How can I create a template or border for all of my drawings that will be on them every time I print? For example A border around the edge, and then drawing details on the right, such as company logos, drawing title, revision dates etc?

    Im sure its very simple but I just have not got a clue where to start, or even what "they" are called!!

    Hope you can help

    Cheers

    Craig
    Last edited by dj_wymo; 7th Oct 2009 at 09:10 pm.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dj_wymo View Post
    Hi Peeps

    I am drawing some house plans for some alterations to my house. At the minute, every time I plot it obviously just prints what I have drawn. How can I create a template or border for all of my drawings that will be on them every time I print? For example A border around the edge, and then drawing details on the right, such as company logos, drawing title, revision dates etc?

    Im sure its very simple but I just have not got a clue where to start, or even what "they" are called!!

    Hope you can help

    Cheers

    Craig
    They are called "Titleblocks". AutoCAD has default ones, just open one up from the template selections.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Awesome!

    Ive found one that fits the bill, and I can now edit it to suit etc.

    Only thing is - How do I use them? How do I transfer everything that I have drawn into that file? Copy & Paste?

    When I used CAD years ago at work, there was a procedure that we used to do prior to plotting, which transferred the drawing as though it was another layer onto the title block. We could then zoom in, and pan it about until we were happy what it was going to plot etc.

    How do I do this?

    Thanks a lot for the help

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Copy/Paste works fine. Just get everything you've drawn from model space into the new file, and keep on truckin' along.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. How to tell that plot scale "1:0.1" is realy "1:100"
    By chavlji in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26th Feb 2009, 08:29 am
  2. "LINK template" icons "greyed out" -why?
    By Chrisjpritchard in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2007, 10:25 pm
  3. Creating a negative "image" from an existing drawi
    By tomsnyder in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th May 2006, 04:33 am
  4. Question on template "ANSI B Title Block" in Autoc
    By ehoward in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2005, 11:36 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts