+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    J S Machine's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    36092 USA
    Posts
    35

    Default House floorplans / General Home design in AC2009

    I am a new user to Autocad 2009. I have spent the majority of the past few days learning the basics and playing around with it. I was hoping to find a tutorial on drawing a basic house or another type of structure.

    I have a couple of questions.

    Are most floor plans drawn in 2D?

    Are layers used in floorplans like they are in other aspects of drawings?


    I want to do some work with a floorplan and see what can be done with it. Anybody know where I can find a good small tutorial on drawing a basic house or a place where I can find a basic floorplan to download?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,448

    Default

    Welcome to the CADTutor forum JSM.

    Take a ride down to your local bookstore and buy a copy of AutoCAD 2009 / AutoCAD LT 2009 No Experience Required. The book was written by someone with an architectural background and takes one through all the steps needed to create a set of plans for a small cabin.

    My personal opinion would be that yes, currently, most floor plans are drawn in 2D but that doesn't mean they couldn't be done in 3D.

    Layers should ALWAYS be used in any type of drawing as it leads to better organization and less clutter.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    4,965

    Default

    A flat 2D house plan can be made into 3D simply by setting "thickness" to wall heights doors and windows require UCS to draw on outside of walls. To check viewpoint 1,1,1

    Another trick is to draw all elevations align them to correct location then use rotate3D to make into 3D ie stand them up ! viewpoint 1,1,1 etc to check

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,197

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Welcome to the CADTutor forum JSM.

    Take a ride down to your local bookstore and buy a copy of AutoCAD 2009 / AutoCAD LT 2009 No Experience Required. The book was written by someone with an architectural background and takes one through all the steps needed to create a set of plans for a small cabin.
    I learnt AutoCad via this book at the start of the year (prior to that I had no experience in CAD what-so-ever). From memory it took me jsut over a week to complete.

    I don't do architectural drafting, althoguh it is a good book for teaching the basics.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,197

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    A flat 2D house plan can be made into 3D simply by setting "thickness" to wall heights doors and windows require UCS to draw on outside of walls. To check viewpoint 1,1,1

    Another trick is to draw all elevations align them to correct location then use rotate3D to make into 3D ie stand them up ! viewpoint 1,1,1 etc to check
    Option 1 is the way I do it if I need something 3D. Draw it 2D to start with and then make it vertical/3D from there.

    That second option is not something I would recommend.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,448

    Default

    Here are a couple of other options for creating a 3D building layout.

    POLYSOLID
    "You can create walls with straight and curved segments of constant height and width."

    EXTRUDE
    "Creates a 3D solid or surface by extruding a 2D object."

    I can't say I agree with method 2 above although I could see it used as a "down and dirty" means of making what appears to be a 3D representation but the objects would have no depth. Kind of reminds me of paper dolls.

    Likewise I am not a big fan of Thickness either.

    THICKNESS
    "Thickness is a property of certain objects that gives them a 3D appearance."

    Bottom line: Try all four suggestions and see which one you like best in terms of appearance and ease of use.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #7
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dink87522 View Post
    I learned AutoCad via this book at the start of the year (prior to that I had no experience in CAD what-so-ever). From memory it took me just over a week to complete.
    Now that is amazing! Are you a Mensa or something?
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,197

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tankman View Post
    Now that is amazing! Are you a Mensa or something?
    Ah, no lol.

    A company hired me as a draftsperson without any experience in AutoCad (or anything) as I am young and hence cheap as compared to someone older or qualified, or even having experience lol.

    At the start I didn't know a whole lot, althoguh the above book certainly got me started out and then I've built on that since etc...

    Edit: typo

  9. #9
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W3670 (Six Core 3.2GHz, 12MB Cache)
    RAM:
    12 Gb Ram (3x4GB) DDR3
    Graphics:
    2GB NviDia Quadro 4000
    Monitor:
    Dual screen - BenQ G2020HD 21"
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    990

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Another trick is to draw all elevations align them to correct location then use rotate3D to make into 3D ie stand them up ! viewpoint 1,1,1 etc to check

    Thats not a trick. Its just bad draughting practice.

    This method is NOT recommended.
    Steven Smith
    Solidworks - CSWP | AutoCad


Similar Threads

  1. Raster Design General Use Question
    By AQucsaiJr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2009, 06:59 pm
  2. Making 3d model of my house for home improvments
    By roth515 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2007, 11:15 am
  3. AutoCADing a house design
    By lamentofking in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 29th May 2007, 12:22 am
  4. Chief Architect or Acad2005 for home design?
    By covinataz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th Jan 2005, 09:39 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts