How to create dimension

abishop

I am a ROOKIE at Inventor

I am FRESH to AutoDesk inventor. I am trying to create a dimension in a partial detail view. It is a diameter dim that has the double arrow as it does not have the other half of the hole in the partial detail view. Is this doable and what is this dim called as i can't remember it?

Thanks

Andy B

Andy, what version of Inventor are you running? Is this hole external on the part in the view you are trying to dimension it in? Are you dealing with a wire frame view or are you working with a shaded or hidden line view?

I am in Inventor 2009. It is in Detail view where you create the circle detail and the only thing in the detail view is part of the part you are drawing. Say there is a bore in the view but you only see the top portion of the bore/hole. You want to dimension it in this view as this view is 5/1 and you can see the hole better in the larger view.

I would then click the one edge of the hole and the other edge is not in this detail view so it creates a DOUBLE ARROW. Sorry, i use to use ProE.

Thanks

AndyB

it should be no problem. Im sorry im not fully understanding. To me it sounds like you are getting a double arrow leader when you want a single arrow for the diameter?