+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16

    Question UCS 2D plan to 3D elevation

    Hi I hope the title explains what I'm trying to do.

    I have a plan of a multi sided object and 3D points.

    I've created lots of UCS's for each face.

    What I'd like to do is set a particular UCS so that it is square in the view in plan view, which I manage, then I want to view it as a flat on elevation effectively with z values going up x values to the right and y values the other direction! Traditionally I would have "flipped" the data to be viewed in this way like an elevation of a building would appear.

    I'm really struggling and not quite sure why I can't work this out as surely this is the point of ucs's, the presets of top bottom etc, or the 3d orbit aren't good enough I need to be able to be square on to the information, or at least I think I do!!

    Thanks in advance ( I hope!)

    Rossi.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,448

    Default

    You can be "square on" to any "face" simply by changing the origin and orientation of your UCS even in ACAD 2002.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Hmm I'm looking daft now, cheers.

    Do I just swap Z for y ? is it easy all I can see is a way to rotate an axis!

    I'm using 2009

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    just had a minor brain wave.

    You mentioned "face" my drawing does not have a defined single face I can pick, however maybe I could get round this by creating a face which is the same orientation as my ucs?

    If so any tips welcome (on what exactly a face is)

    Thanks

    Rossi

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,448

    Default

    Well you mentioned objects and 3D points so I wasn't exactly sure what you wanted to square up to.

    Old school here so forgive me. But when I type UCS at the command line and press Enter I can them type "O" (for Origin) and relocate it then I can repeat the UCS command and this time type "3" for 3 point and follow the prompts for base point and positive direction of both X and Y.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    thanks once again sounds do-able at home at the moment will give it a crack in the morning!

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,448

    Default

    Please let us know how you make out. If you have further questions pertaining to this particular thread continue to post them here. Questions on new topics deserve a new thread. Good luck.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Yeah baby!!! I done it!

    Not quite how you said, I was getting quite confused with defining the 3 points. Oh and it's not becasue you said you're old school I spent most of my time on rel 12! Only just getting to grips with 2009!!

    So I typed into command line "view"
    Up popped a window
    I expanded preset views
    selected Front
    changed the set relative to box to my current UCS
    then I can set the view to be front and it is square to my ucs with z values up and x to the right!

    Thanks for pushing me along here.

    Cheers

    Rossi

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Land Dsektop 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    You can rotate its axis easily...

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Land Dsektop 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Good you have done it!! keep it up!!

Similar Threads

  1. plan elevation and sections
    By prabhathjp in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2009, 12:22 pm
  2. Plan + Elevation + Section
    By sarahsoames in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2008, 09:03 pm
  3. Transfer Ortho Elevation data to Plan views
    By Morphim in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2007, 01:30 pm
  4. From floor plan to elevation
    By nathan008 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2007, 11:27 am
  5. 3D to 2d elevation?
    By nivradolobo in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Mar 2007, 05:25 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts