+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Revit MEP vs MEP

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Looking into downloading(student version) and learning one of these but not sure which one I should learn or what the difference is. Any suggestions from users out there?
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,847

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chelsea1307 View Post
    Looking into downloading(student version) and learning one of these but not sure which one I should learn or what the difference is. Any suggestions from users out there?
    Revit MEP is for mechanical engineering, and it utilized best when you have a completed Revit Architecture model to work with.

    AutoCAD MEP is for partial engineering, but is more widely used as a much faster, better solution for creating very accurate mechanical layouts that can (1) coordinate in a 3D BIM model and (2) produce very good construction documents for installation/fabrication purposes.

    My suggestion? Learn both.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northglenn, Colorado
    Posts
    713

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Revit MEP is for mechanical engineering, and it utilized best when you have a completed Revit Architecture model to work with.

    AutoCAD MEP is for partial engineering, but is more widely used as a much faster, better solution for creating very accurate mechanical layouts that can (1) coordinate in a 3D BIM model and (2) produce very good construction documents for installation/fabrication purposes.

    My suggestion? Learn both.
    Completely agree, not only are you going to learn two very nice programs, but you will also make yourself much more marketable.

  4. #4
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    Right now im downloading Revit MEP becuase i thats what my company has a few seats of. still have another hour and 15 mins before it will be done downloading. Ill try MEP next. These downloads take forever
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,847

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chelsea1307 View Post
    Right now im downloading Revit MEP becuase i thats what my company has a few seats of. still have another hour and 15 mins before it will be done downloading. Ill try MEP next. These downloads take forever
    2 questions: Do you work at an engineering firm, or a contractor? And how often are you getting fully developed Revit architectural models, complete with spaces and UV Values set to walls, etc?
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  6. #6
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    1. I work at an engineering firm, we do hvac and plumbing design mainly for schools and hospitals.
    2. We have a revit model for the project that we are currently using Revit MEP for, i have no idea if its complete with all that stuff or not though
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  7. #7
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,847

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chelsea1307 View Post
    1. I work at an engineering firm, we do hvac and plumbing design mainly for schools and hospitals.
    2. We have a revit model for the project that we are currently using Revit MEP for, i have no idea if its complete with all that stuff or not though
    Okay, well here's why I ask:

    Revit MEP is meant to provide the tools to run mechanical and electrical engineering applications. On the mechanical side of things within Revit, it utilizes Revit Architecture walls and wall types with UV Values, glass/glazing, room volumetric info, calculates btu values for occupancy, geographical location of the building, etc etc and that info can be pulled and used for engineering your mechanical systems. It needs a fully functional and complete Revit Architectural model for this "magic" to happen, and even then the learning curve is steep.

    So for this particular job that you're talking about, if you just simply need to provide a 3D modeled CAD file for coordination purposes, then knowing AutoCAD MEP will provide MUCH better results since it's faster, it "operates like AutoCAD" so the learning curve isn't that steep at all, and it creates better construction documents ready to plot.

    Mechanical systems in Revit MEP is for laying out diffusers and registers, then connecting it to ductwork that is then connected to a unit just for engineering data and calculations, and utilizing the Revit architectural model for initial engineering data, instead of using a 3rd party app such as Trane's Trace 700 or something similar. It is not as robust in terms of providing great quality layouts of mechanical systems since this portion of Revit MEP is extremely limited compared to AutoCAD MEP. Plus, Revit MEP is s l o o o o w w w . . . . . . . . . .
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  8. #8
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    I typed a response and could have swore i hit submit, but its not here.
    The bosses want all the drafters to learn MEP they dont know there is two of them. Not so much for the current job because its almost finished but to be able to say next time someone says they want it done in 3d we have ___ number of drafters who can efficiently use the program. I know theres a lot more stuff that can be done if the architects model is created right compared to it not being created right. Im downloading Autocad MEP now to see how it works, It sounds like you think autocad MEP is easier to learn the Revit MEP is that right? Is Revit MEP any easier after Autocad MEP? Any suggestions of good books for learning MEP/Revit MEP?
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,847

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chelsea1307 View Post
    I typed a response and could have swore i hit submit, but its not here.
    The bosses want all the drafters to learn MEP they dont know there is two of them. Not so much for the current job because its almost finished but to be able to say next time someone says they want it done in 3d we have ___ number of drafters who can efficiently use the program. I know theres a lot more stuff that can be done if the architects model is created right compared to it not being created right. Im downloading Autocad MEP now to see how it works, It sounds like you think autocad MEP is easier to learn the Revit MEP is that right? Is Revit MEP any easier after Autocad MEP? Any suggestions of good books for learning MEP/Revit MEP?
    I will say this... Do not compare Revit MEP vs AutoCAD MEP. They are two totally different applications, with two totally different approaches of designing. Revit MEP is not a "drafting" program. And it most certainly is not the "new AutoCAD". Not even close. It honestly sucks, and has HUGE limitations when it comes to drafting and layout of 3D mechanical drawings. It's not meant for that at all. The ONLY benefit is when you strictly utilizes Revit architectural models to pull data to use in calculations - that's the only one between Revit MEP vs AutoCAD MEP. Granted, you don't have to use Revit MEP only in collaboration with a Revit architectural model, but you would be seriously hindering productivity in using it as your new mechanical drafting program for layouts and design and plotting construction documents.

    Just as a for instance, here at my company if we are engineering a mechanical job, we still do it the manual way using Trane's Trace 700 application, then use AutoCAD MEP to lay out the design. Only when we are REQUIRED via bid contract to provide an engineered Revit MEP file is the only reasons we use Revit MEP.

    To make things easier, Revit MEP Suite comes with Revit MEP, AutoCAD MEP, AutoCAD Architecture (profile and tools only, not the content), and AutoCAD. It's all rolled into one package so you can use both when needed. This will help you decide because it's essentially the same price to buy, but a little higher in price to maintain the yearly subscription.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  10. #10
    Super Member chelsea1307's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chelsea1307's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca USA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    so pretty much it would be use autocad MEP 99% of the time and on the rare occasion everything in the building is put in right use Revit MEP to make calculations but still use autocad MEP to layout the ductwork. Now if i could just get autocad MEP to install on my computer
    "The problem is stupidity. I am not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but, why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself? "

Similar Threads

  1. Link Revit model into current revit model
    By miyuki_mll in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 11:58 am
  2. Revit
    By DODGE in forum Revit General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2009, 12:37 am
  3. The Revit Kid.com!
    By RfOeCnKdOeNr in forum Revit General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th Feb 2009, 10:32 pm
  4. Revit 9
    By Mark1965 in forum Revit General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2009, 04:07 pm
  5. Revit
    By johnathan in forum Revit General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2007, 08:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts