+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    alisonn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    dont know
    Computer:
    mesh dont know
    Motherboard:
    dont know
    CPU:
    dont know
    RAM:
    dont know
    Graphics:
    dont know
    Primary Storage:
    dont know
    Monitor:
    Hanns.g
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    england
    Posts
    39

    Default Rotating a line that is at an angle to align with another

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I Have been using autocad for a quite a while and so far have not figured this one out.

    1.How do I rotate a line so that is comes horizontal. Ie on the line exactly.

    I need this 'skill' when I bring in my ordnance survey plans. The angle of the house plans come in at an angle and I just want to get them into a orthagonal view ie all the lines either horizontal or vertical.

    Similarly

    2. how do I align a line ( Ie this may be in relation to rotating a whole drawing. Like especially when drawing a section through a roof and getting the angle of the roof right) that is at one angle to align precisely over another. Currently I measure the angle and rotate the angle- but. it never lines up precisely- there must be an easier way.
    The other way I try is by trying to align it but when I hit the mouse, invariable it jolts a bit and it is all a bit of a hit an miss affair.

    I would look forward to hearing from anyone who has an alternative and more accurate solution.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    The Rotate command has an option called Reference. Are you familiar with it? The following is from your AutoCAD Help file:


    Reference
    Rotates objects from a specified angle to a new, absolute angle.

    Specify the reference angle <last reference angle>: Specify an angle by entering a value or by specifying two points

    Specify the new angle or [Points] <last new angle>: Specify the new absolute angle by entering a value or by specifying two points


    Also note that greater accuracy in denoting rotation angles can be attained by changing the precision of your angle units via the Units command.
    Last edited by Tiger; 5th Nov 2009 at 01:03 pm. Reason: fixed quotes
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Another option is to create a macro and assign it to a button. Refer to syntax listed below. It is basically a poor man's (LT user) version of the ALIGN command found in the full version of AutoCAD. It will move and rotate objects thus aligning them. Note that it uses the "reference" option of the rotate command.

    ID_ALIGN [Align Objects] ^C^C_select;\_move;_p;;\\_rotate;_p;;@;_ref;@;\\
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Becuase I had so much trouble figure out exactly how the Reference-option worked at the start, I'll write out a bit more as a complement to what ReMark wrote from the Help.

    This is what it says on the Commandline, with my (hopefully) clarifying comments in red:

    ROTATE
    Current positive angle in UCS: ANGDIR=counterclockwise ANGBASE=0

    Select objects: 1 found Click on your object to rotate

    Select objects: hit enter
    Specify base point: click the point to rotate around
    Specify rotation angle or [Copy/Reference] <0>: r type R for Reference
    Specify the reference angle <0>: click at the same point as your basepoint Specify second point: click further along the line that you in the end want as horizontal, here you are basically changing the baseline for the rotation
    Specify the new angle or [Points] <0>: click along a point horizontal to the basepoint, use polar or ortho.


    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,041

    Default

    One way to rotate a line so that it is horizontal is to turn on ORTHO, then when you rotate with reference, the new alignment is automatically horizontal (or vertical).

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    alisonn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    dont know
    Computer:
    mesh dont know
    Motherboard:
    dont know
    CPU:
    dont know
    RAM:
    dont know
    Graphics:
    dont know
    Primary Storage:
    dont know
    Monitor:
    Hanns.g
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    england
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Thanks you every one for the quick response- for which I am currently in the process of practicing right now!

    With the rotate command I think the both lines would have to be at the same stat point (obviously as the command is ROTATE )

    I m gotta to go and practice all methods and will report back when I have succeeded- this may take a while ...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    They "refernce-line" and the line that you want to rotate does not have to have the same basepoint - just that for me most often it is. But the best way is to have a play with the command, good luck
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    alisonn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    dont know
    Computer:
    mesh dont know
    Motherboard:
    dont know
    CPU:
    dont know
    RAM:
    dont know
    Graphics:
    dont know
    Primary Storage:
    dont know
    Monitor:
    Hanns.g
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    england
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Hello
    I have practiced ReMark s ( my sister lives in Cos Cob by the way) first method and with the detailed help of Tiger - yes this works Perfectly.

    Eldons method worked instantly as my ortho was on and I had to switch it off to make sure the method worked with the lines at various angles.


    With regard to ReMarks other option, this looks more complex and I will have to pursue this- perhaps later tonight when I have more time!

    Another question to tag onto this

    3. Is there another way to rotate the line to the same angle as another line (ie make it parallel) where the lines dont start at the same point.

    Is this possible? or do you alway have to MANUALLY superimpose the lines over each other?

    Thanks very much and something I have pondered over for along time.

  9. #9
    Super Member skipsophrenic's Avatar
    Computer Details
    skipsophrenic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Vista 32 bit
    Computer:
    Compaq
    Motherboard:
    erm . . yeah?
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2140 @ 1.60 Ghz
    RAM:
    2039MB
    Graphics:
    don't ask you'll kill me
    Primary Storage:
    360gb
    Monitor:
    21" widescren - 16:10 ratio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alisonn View Post
    Is there another way to rotate the line to the same angle as another line (ie make it parallel) where the lines dont start at the same point.
    The only way i can think is if you KNOW where the base point of the rotation has to be, otherwise, you could try offsetting the line you want the other line parralell to.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. - Albert Einstein

    SET FILEDIA = 1

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by alisonn View Post

    3. Is there another way to rotate the line to the same angle as another line (ie make it parallel) where the lines dont start at the same point.

    Is this possible? or do you alway have to MANUALLY superimpose the lines over each other?

    Thanks very much and something I have pondered over for along time.
    You can start with the Rotate-Reference and instead of ending with it as horizontal you can activate the PARALLELL-snap (either tick it before you start the command, or type PAR inside the command to invoke it just this once), mouse over the 'correct' line to get the snap going and then you move your line till you get a polar tracking kind of line and you see the parallell-snap-icon again. You have to have one or both lines completely visible on the screen when doing this, so if it doesn't work the first time, zoom out and try again.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

Similar Threads

  1. lisp to draw line on same angle as line picked
    By john_ in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2009, 03:32 pm
  2. rotating ucs - how to determine current angle/orientation
    By NoelStalker in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Nov 2008, 07:46 pm
  3. Rotating the Crosshairs/Drawing at an Angle
    By AutoCAD Tips Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2008, 01:51 am
  4. How do I auto-align text when rotating a block?
    By Lucid in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Aug 2007, 05:56 pm
  5. How do I align text within a block when rotating a block
    By troutspinner in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2007, 01:23 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts