+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33

    Default user profile issues

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am using autocad 2010 and I am not able to save edits to my user profile and my profile will not remain the default profile when I start up new sessions? suggestions please

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Use the profile switch /p in your startup icon on your desktop.
    http://www.hyperpics.com/downloads/r...n%20Switch.pdf

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    Some establishments may have the system locked out so you can't save changes to the profile
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33

    Default

    I may not have explained my issue enough.

    When I loaded 2010 there was no problem with saving setting to my profile and when I started up cad every morning my profile came up and off to work I went. But I loaded the 2010 update and now when I start every morning I get the 2010 default profile and and any change that I have made to my profile setting are missing.
    I have gone to options and selected my profile and all of the previous days setting are gone. I corrected the profile and then saved it over the old one. Re-loaded the profile worked for the day with no problems. Get to work the next day and I have to start all over, the setting are all kaput. Thus having to start the process all over again.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Does the location of your profiles look like this one
    C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2010\R18.0\enu\Support\Profiles

    and
    Does your Startup Icon properties look like this
    "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\ACADM_2010\acad.exe" /p your profile name here /W <your workspace name here>"

    Assuming XP OS.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33

    Default

    startup properties? (no clue how to get to that)

    and no profile location is...
    C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2010\enu\Support\Profiles

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33

    Default

    I find nothing with the path that you wrote for the start icon properties

  8. #8
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dragonpace View Post
    startup properties? (no clue how to get to that)
    There should be a shortcut icon on your desktop. Hit the Windows key + M, everything will be minimized leaving you with just your desktop, locate the AutoCAD startup icon, right click, pick properties, add the /p your-profile-name in the target statement under the shortcut tab, pick OK to back out of that. Close Autocad if is up, now double click on the shortcut you just modified. Your profile will be used on startup.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33

    Default

    ok I got the icon switch thing figured out but cad will still not save the last profile settings. I saved over and even created a new profile but setting will not save.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ok well for what ever the reason things are working again

Similar Threads

  1. Country in User Profile
    By Rob-GB in forum Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2009, 08:53 am
  2. New User Profile Fields
    By CADTutor in forum News, Announcements & FAQ
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2009, 01:02 am
  3. User Profile question?
    By NuttZ in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd May 2007, 02:34 pm
  4. CAD user profile setting loaction
    By KBcad in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st May 2007, 09:05 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts