Thinking of purchasing AutoCAD Electrical

jamesconti

We are currently using AutoCAD Lt 2002 at our company and we are thinking of purchasing AutoCAD Electrical.

I have used Promise 2007 with my previous employer. Therefore I have had some experience with automated electrical software.

:unsure:

I have several questions to ask. You may not be able to answer all of them but can you please answer as many as possible:

1. What are pros & cons of this software?

2. How often does this software get corrupted? Sometimes or very often?

3. Do think that you are saving time with this software compared to AutoCAD?

4. Is it easy to migrate drawings from AutoCAD Lt to AutoCAD Electrical (refer to drawing & tell me what do you think)?

4a. Can you modify drawings after they have been migrated from AutoCAD Lt to AutoCAD Electrical?

6. Can you do other drawings besides electrical (e.g. a simple interior building design) or do they have to be done in AutoCAD? {This means that I have to purchase both AutoCAD softwares}.

7. How easy is it to do modifications (e.g. rewiring components, new components) after the drawings have been completed at the 'As Built' stage?

8. AutoCAD Electrical is a Multiuser program so is it possible for one person to do the schematics while the other person does the panel layout at the same time?

AutoCAD Electrical Pic.jpg

The company I work for is 'using' AutoCAD Electrical. We are not using it to its full potential, but we are slowly making progress. We have not had problems with AutoCAD E. crashing any more frequently than AutoCAD regular did at my previous place of employment, If you do purchase Electrical, be sure to check the min. specs for the computer published by AutoDesk and meet them with room to spare.

I think that FOR WHAT WE DO, AutoCAD regular and some custom LISP routines would better serve our needs. But we don't have any LISP gurus, so thats kind of a non starter.