Degrees Minutes Seconds

KevUK

My knowledge in Autocad is minimal, as I am a site setting out engineer.

My question is: How can I draw a line by using DMS (Whole Circle Bearings) NOT surveyors.

eg: 100.000 metres @ a bearing of 30 degrees 45 minutes 45 seconds!!

If I enter it as @100.000

If I enter it as @100.000

Thanks

No need to shout.

I'm using 2010 it doesn't matter what I set Angle Type to. I can input the angle as a decimal or DMS and it excepts both (without freezing). Not sure why your input freezes things up. When did the problem first occur?

Have you used any custom LISP routines lately?

No need to shout.

I'm using 2010 it doesn't matter what I set Angle Type to. I can input the angle as a decimal or DMS and it excepts both (without freezing). Not sure why your input freezes things up. When did the problem first occur?

Have you used any custom LISP routines lately?

Sorry, did not mean to shout:cry:

Could it be the way I am imputting the angle!

Example:

@100.000

Exactly as I type it in

I just duplicated what you wrote and had no problem. What is shown below was taken directly from my text screen (F2):

Command: _line Specify first point:

Specify next point or [undo]: @100.000

Angle Type was set to Decimal and Precision was set to "0" places yet AutoCAD took the input just as I typed it. Doing a "List" on the line showed the distance as specified but the angle, for obvious reasons, was shown to be 31 as I expect it would. The point of the exercise was to get AutoCAD to freeze on the unexpected input. It did not. Good news for me but it does not explain why you are having a problem.

Have you had any problem in the past typing in DMS?

What is the source of the drawing? Did it come from an outside contractor?

What software was used to create the drawing?

Start AutoCAD-New Drawing

Draw a line

AutoCAD text window:

Regenerating model.

AutoCAD menu utilities loaded.

Command:

Command:

Command: _line Specify first point: 100.000,100.000