+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default title block setup

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Can someone help me with title block? I have a temp title block dwg and I use it for my 24X36 temp dwgs. Now I want to use that same temp title block dwg for 11X17. For some reason the temp title block is not on the sheet (paper space) when you preview before plotting (scale set to 1:1).

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jcreech View Post
    Can someone help me with title block? I have a temp title block dwg and I use it for my 24X36 temp dwgs. Now I want to use that same temp title block dwg for 11X17. For some reason the temp title block is not on the sheet (paper space) when you preview before plotting (scale set to 1:1).
    What layer is the TB on? Is it set to not plot in the layer manager?
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default title block setup

    Everything plots ok. But it cuts off some of my title block.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Your scale is 1:1 and the title block is not fully plotted. That means that the TB is too big for the plotting area. Reduce the TB down taking into account the margin most plotters need.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  5. #5
    Super Member ScribbleJ's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ScribbleJ's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.8GHz 2800 Mhz
    RAM:
    12 gig
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600
    Primary Storage:
    237 GB
    Monitor:
    Main: Dell 2408 Aux: Dell 1703FP
    Discipline
    Civil
    ScribbleJ's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Design Tech for Water / Waste Water Industry.
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Roadway designs, water and waste-water treatment systems and water distribution systems.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    Posts
    541

    Default

    Are you using window for your plotting area? Maybe the window needs to be adjusted.
    Calvin
    Soli Deo Gloria

  6. #6
    Senior Member mrbucket's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mrbucket's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Antec 9Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASRock A780GXE 128M
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom Quad 9950@3.0ghz
    RAM:
    4 Gigs OCZ Dominator@1333, 4 Gigs Flash Mem L3 Cache
    Graphics:
    Radeon 8670 HD 1 gig
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 500 Gig 16 mb Cache
    Monitor:
    22" Sceptre HD
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Brick, N.J. USA
    Posts
    271

    Default

    Did you just copy and paste onto the 11x17 area? You will have to adjust the new tb to accomodate a much larger d size sheet. Scaling wont work either, it will change your text and line scale.
    My ESC key is worn out.


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Do you know what is the TB 11x17 size is in paper space?

    Thanks, JC

  8. #8
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Start with 10x16 and adjust until you find the exact size that works or you can live with.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  9. #9
    Senior Member mrbucket's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mrbucket's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Antec 9Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASRock A780GXE 128M
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom Quad 9950@3.0ghz
    RAM:
    4 Gigs OCZ Dominator@1333, 4 Gigs Flash Mem L3 Cache
    Graphics:
    Radeon 8670 HD 1 gig
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 500 Gig 16 mb Cache
    Monitor:
    22" Sceptre HD
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Brick, N.J. USA
    Posts
    271

    Default

    Just out of curiosity- What is the advantage of having titleblocks in model space and not set-up in paperspace with default template?
    My ESC key is worn out.


  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    because if you have multi. drawing in model space, you have to window each time you want to plot. If you use paperspace all you have to do is click on tab and plot.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2009, 03:21 am
  2. Title Block and .dwt
    By edgley in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th Oct 2007, 11:01 pm
  3. More Title Block ???
    By wastewater in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2007, 09:45 pm
  4. title block help please
    By kunal in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Jan 2007, 11:36 am
  5. Title Block
    By Cadgirl10 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Jun 2006, 02:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts