+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: dwg to eps

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default dwg to eps

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Dear All,

    I want to convert a dwg file to an eps one. The problem is that when I do this by exporting in eps format, what I get is garbage. Is there an effective way or software that I can use to convert dwg to eps?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,535

    Default

    I plot to a postscript printer to obtain an EPS file. I had to add the printer but once added it creates an EPS file.

    How are you seeing the garbage? When you print it?
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Not only. Even the image itself is a mess. I am not familiar with the postscript printer. Would you please give me some instructions? And thanks for the reply!

  4. #4
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,535

    Default

    EPS is encapsulated postscript so won't make any sense until sent to a printer that accepts EPS files.

    I don't know how 2010 adds printers but in earlier versions you add a printer and look through the list for a postscript one. I don't have AutoCAD at home so can't tell you what I have available. Once selected follow the on screen instructions. I can't remember if you have to tick the "print to file" box or not.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Secretagdan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Custom
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    INTEL SSDSC2MH120A2
    Monitor:
    (2) Samsung 226BW 22" Monitor(s)
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Secretagdan's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Detailer--Exhibits
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I draw stuff people build it.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Adobe Illustrator can do the job. (CS2 Suite+) Save the drawing as a verson 2000 *.DWG or *.DXF, and you can open it, and save as a *.EPS file.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,066
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you all very much for your assistance!
    I will try it first thing tomorrow morning!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts