+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: dwg to eps

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default dwg to eps

    Dear All,

    I want to convert a dwg file to an eps one. The problem is that when I do this by exporting in eps format, what I get is garbage. Is there an effective way or software that I can use to convert dwg to eps?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    I plot to a postscript printer to obtain an EPS file. I had to add the printer but once added it creates an EPS file.

    How are you seeing the garbage? When you print it?
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Not only. Even the image itself is a mess. I am not familiar with the postscript printer. Would you please give me some instructions? And thanks for the reply!

  4. #4
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    EPS is encapsulated postscript so won't make any sense until sent to a printer that accepts EPS files.

    I don't know how 2010 adds printers but in earlier versions you add a printer and look through the list for a postscript one. I don't have AutoCAD at home so can't tell you what I have available. Once selected follow the on screen instructions. I can't remember if you have to tick the "print to file" box or not.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Secretagdan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Custom
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    INTEL SSDSC2MH120A2
    Monitor:
    (2) Samsung 226BW 22" Monitor(s)
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Secretagdan's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Detailer--Exhibits
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    I draw stuff people build it.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Adobe Illustrator can do the job. (CS2 Suite+) Save the drawing as a verson 2000 *.DWG or *.DXF, and you can open it, and save as a *.EPS file.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,016
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) --->
    http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you all very much for your assistance!
    I will try it first thing tomorrow morning!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts