+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 63
  1. #21
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Steve: Annotative text will be set up in model space. I'm just wondering if because of scaling differences of viewports (back in my layout) the text may or may not show up in the exact same location it does in model space.

    Skipso: Yes, you are correct. That is what I am aiming to do.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    rkent: Text in both MS and in PS seems a bit dangerous. Choosing one over the other would seem more logical. But as you say the future use of the drawing may dictate this kind of approach. Could you cite an example?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Full Member Sparky's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    Sparky's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drating Technician
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skipsophrenic View Post
    ReMark, you can assign more than one scale to a peice of text, and then have that peice of text show in different viewports at different sizes (i think)

    I'll get some more info together soon for ya.
    This is right. Let's say you have text with 1/2" & 3/4" scales assigned to it. The text will only show up in the viewports that have the 1/2" & 3/4" scale. I used this on braced frame elevations. Using this I could draw the elevation at one scale and in the same drawing file create my details of the connections. The model looked very messey but once in the viewports everything was nice and organized due to the annoatative objects only showing up in the viewports with the same scales that were assigned to the specific pieces of text
    "For with God nothing shall be impossible" Luke 1:37

  4. #24
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    rkent: Text in both MS and in PS seems a bit dangerous. Choosing one over the other would seem more logical. But as you say the future use of the drawing may dictate this kind of approach. Could you cite an example?
    An obvious example would be a drawing that might be saved as a standard detail. I would want the text in MS with the objects for easy insertion into a drawing later.

    I don't have to reduce the procedures to the lowest common denominator as there are only a few of us and we are not beginners.

    In offices with large numbers of users, and especially beginners, I would probably choose one or the other and stick with it. In that case I think I would want annotative in MS. Everytime a viewport is created the text would already be there, rather than having to pull it over, copy, place, etc. for different plot scales.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  5. #25
    Full Member Sparky's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    Sparky's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drating Technician
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    This is right. Let's say you have text with 1/2" & 3/4" scales assigned to it. The text will only show up in the viewports that have the 1/2" & 3/4" scale. I used this on braced frame elevations. Using this I could draw the elevation at one scale and in the same drawing file create my details of the connections. The model looked very messey but once in the viewports everything was nice and organized due to the annoatative objects only showing up in the viewports with the same scales that were assigned to the specific pieces of text
    Does this help?
    Attached Files
    "For with God nothing shall be impossible" Luke 1:37

  6. #26
    Senior Member mrbucket's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mrbucket's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Antec 9Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASRock A780GXE 128M
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom Quad 9950@3.0ghz
    RAM:
    4 Gigs OCZ Dominator@1333, 4 Gigs Flash Mem L3 Cache
    Graphics:
    Radeon 8670 HD 1 gig
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 500 Gig 16 mb Cache
    Monitor:
    22" Sceptre HD
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Brick, N.J. USA
    Posts
    271

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    Does this help?
    XREF.....
    My ESC key is worn out.


  7. #27
    Full Member Sparky's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    Sparky's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drating Technician
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Try this, Sorry!
    Attached Files
    "For with God nothing shall be impossible" Luke 1:37

  8. #28
    Senior Member mrbucket's Avatar
    Computer Details
    mrbucket's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Antec 9Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASRock A780GXE 128M
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom Quad 9950@3.0ghz
    RAM:
    4 Gigs OCZ Dominator@1333, 4 Gigs Flash Mem L3 Cache
    Graphics:
    Radeon 8670 HD 1 gig
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate Barracuda 500 Gig 16 mb Cache
    Monitor:
    22" Sceptre HD
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Brick, N.J. USA
    Posts
    271

    Default

    @Sparky...
    Thats basically the same thing I do. However, I usually dont include diff text heights on the same drawings, sometimes I make copies and use diff dimscale on each depending on detail and vp scale (it may be really tough to read very small scale of dims and they appear as black smudges and dots on larger scale vp). But the viewports @ diff scales on the same drawing.
    My ESC key is worn out.


  9. #29
    Full Member Sparky's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    Sparky's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drating Technician
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    99

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by mrbucket View Post
    @Sparky...
    Thats basically the same thing I do. However, I usually dont include diff text heights on the same drawings, sometimes I make copies and use diff dimscale on each depending on detail and vp scale (it may be really tough to read very small scale of dims and they appear as black smudges and dots on larger scale vp). But the viewports @ diff scales on the same drawing.
    Yea, as I told ReMark, this was just some research I did for the company, we never put it into practice so I'm sure there are things that I missed out on that would have been caught through everyday use.
    "For with God nothing shall be impossible" Luke 1:37

  10. #30
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Old guy = Old school..

    In model space, not annotative

    Thought many times about changing my ways, But I'm probably too lazy to convert.

Similar Threads

  1. annotative scaling in autocad 2007
    By gazzalp in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2009, 03:09 pm
  2. Annotative scaling
    By Geoffers in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2008, 06:48 pm
  3. Annotative scaling of complex linetypes
    By chulse in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th Dec 2007, 09:23 pm
  4. Annotative Scaling
    By Pineapple in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th Oct 2007, 01:13 am
  5. 2008 Annotative scaling
    By Cad Sponge in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2007, 08:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts