+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default How to separate united solids

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello, I am a a moderately advanced user. Is there a way to split solids, say, I have combined 6 boxes and a cylinder in the center to form a fan, via the union command, and now I want to separate them again. At present I have one solid entity. I can do stuff to faces and explode them, but don't know how to return to having six separate boxes and the cylinder. Slice is one option, thinking of one simpler

  2. #2
    Senior Member viviancarvalho's Avatar
    Discipline
    HVAC
    viviancarvalho's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer HVAC Project installation
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    154

    Default

    Reid
    According to me slice is the only & the best option of seperating the solids. Although if you are finding it difficult,you can attach it here i ll try to do it for you.

  3. #3
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by viviancarvalho View Post
    Reid
    According to me slice is the only & the best option of seperating the solids. Although if you are finding it difficult,you can attach it here i ll try to do it for you.
    I agree with the slice option, also you can set the solid history to Yes and it will show the outline of the separated solids for reference.

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    What is the system variable DELOBJ set to?

    DELOBJ

    "All defining geometry is retained."
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    If any of your slices are not planar then create Surface bodies for using with Slice. Use the option to retain both sides of the slice. You might check the tutorials in my signature.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Thank you. DELOBJ is 1. Slice will not work with spherical intersections. I am after a routine rather than a single task. Is DELOBJ equivalent to Record History? Cad keeps history of Boolean, but only as long as there is no editing to sub objects. I kept Record History turned on, but lost Boolean history anyway after editing some faces and could not retrieve it

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    DELOBJ

    "Controls whether geometry used to create 3D objects is retained or deleted."

    Since your variable was set to 1 the profile curves were deleted (includes those used with extrude, sweep, revolve and loft commands).

    You're asking if there is a routine (LISP?) for handling spherical intersections?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    was not thinking about LISP in particular, just a principle in general. I'll see to DELOBJ, but ain't it the command line for Record History.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Are you referring to SOLIDHIST?

    "Controls the default History property setting for new and existing objects. When set to 1, composite solids retain a “history” of the original objects contained in the composite."
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Reid View Post
    Slice will not work with spherical intersections.
    Sure it will.

    I would not have record history turned on - I have seen many problems with this.

    If you follow the instructions in my tutorials Delobj should be off - put generating curves on hidden layers in case you need then later.

    Zip and attach your file here.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

Similar Threads

  1. How do I separate two solids?
    By Rob-GB in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2009, 01:08 pm
  2. How to substract N number of solids from n number of solids using C# code
    By srikanthkamuju in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2008, 08:18 am
  3. Metric System Adoption in the United States?
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2008, 02:10 am
  4. How do I Separate hatches?
    By Ikarikun in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Dec 2005, 07:37 am
  5. importing solids into 3dsmax5 - solids coming out see thru?
    By ironman2 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2005, 05:21 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts