+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default Pieces of walls & windows print in color?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    when I plot with an "AIA LWT by Object" plot style everything plot black when I put it on the "standard" layer, except the inside hatch of the wall prints yellow & the glazing of the window prints blue and the glass prints yellow. I know its an embedded layer in the the components that make up the wall or window already created by Autodesk but is there a way to override those embedded layers so everything will print correctly on the standard layer?

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crosscad View Post
    when I plot with an "AIA LWT by Object" plot style everything plot black when I put it on the "standard" layer, except the inside hatch of the wall prints yellow & the glazing of the window prints blue and the glass prints yellow. I know its an embedded layer in the the components that make up the wall or window already created by Autodesk but is there a way to override those embedded layers so everything will print correctly on the standard layer?

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
    Are you using plain AutoCAD or Architectural?
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    AutoCAD Architecture 2008

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,989

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by crosscad View Post
    AutoCAD Architecture 2008
    You will need to post in an Architecture newsgroup as those settings are not in regular autocad. I don't have Arch in front of me so I can't tell you exact steps, but you will have to edit the file that holds all the definitions of the parts and pieces and change the plot style from normal to a named plot style. Or if using CTB then change to a black color. Wish I could give better help but no longer have arch on my machine.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. Windows plot in color
    By crosscad in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2009, 05:59 pm
  2. Color changes in PDF print
    By cpriedel in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2009, 08:53 pm
  3. Print color
    By Stephen Shafer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th Nov 2008, 08:38 am
  4. Walls full of windows
    By Galingula in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2005, 09:11 pm
  5. Screen vs Print Color
    By BWW in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2005, 08:07 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts