trouble opening certain files

Amber D

Please forgive me if this question has been answered elsewhere in the forum, as I was unable to find anything like it and I'm beginning to get frustrated.

I'm self taught with the ancient AutoCAD 2000, and learned much of what I know on CAD Tutor (thanks everyone! :D).

I'm having a problem whenever I try to open certain files. (All of our files are .DWG, so I suppose I mean files with certain contents) In my office, we work a lot with aerial photographs, and I'm having trouble opening CAD files with a number of aerial photographs. I've looked into file size being my problem, but I can open other files that are almost nearly identical in size with no problem at all.

I've also noticed that it will happen with a file that I just created, plotted, even plotted via PDF. As soon as I close the file and try to open it again, it won't open. The same thing happens with files created by my predecessor.

When I go to open one of these problem files, they begin to load like normal, and then before all of the images have been loaded, I hear an error tone. There's never any message, but as soon as I hear the sound, it's all over. And sometimes, it gets all the way to the end, loads all of the images, and I see my document for about a half of a second, and then the same thing. Error tone, and I can't see anything, just a blank white screen like when CAD is first starting up.

Worst of all, I can close and/or minimize all other applications I have running EXCEPT AutoCAD. It behaves like my computer's frozen, but only with CAD. I've also tried to open these files when all other applications have been closed, with no success.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!