+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    KeithXP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 x64
    Computer:
    Armari Magnetar QS
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5Q64 WS
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme QX6700
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX3500
    Primary Storage:
    Western Digital WD1500ADFD 150GB
    Monitor:
    Dell 2408WFP
    Using
    3ds Max Design 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    15

    Default Something wierd going on with Daylight head assembly

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Suddenly today I find that when I create a daylight system, although the compass rose appears normal, the head assembly is so huge that only a few lines appear crossing the screen. I cannot zoom out to view it.

    This happens even if I do a Reset, start a new file and Create>Daylight System.

    I cannot find any setting to control this, or to scale the head down after creation.

    Any ideas? thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    KeithXP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 x64
    Computer:
    Armari Magnetar QS
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5Q64 WS
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme QX6700
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX3500
    Primary Storage:
    Western Digital WD1500ADFD 150GB
    Monitor:
    Dell 2408WFP
    Using
    3ds Max Design 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Found the solution to this, in case anyone else has the problem:

    Customize>Preferences>Viewports>
    Non-Scaling Object Size:

    Turns out this controls the size of cameras, daylight head assembly etc.
    It had a setting of 100 on my system (no idea how it got changed). Setting it to 1mm sorted the problem.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,091

    Default

    I was just in there poking around, and I saw that option, but I didn't think it had anything to do with the sizing of cameras, daylight head, etc. That's good information, thanks for posting the solution.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #4
    Senior Member Lazarus's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lazarus's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 x64
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5Q-E
    CPU:
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9550
    RAM:
    8Gb DDR2 800Mhz
    Graphics:
    ATI HD4850
    Primary Storage:
    WD Caviar Black
    Monitor:
    Dell U2311H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Skopje,Macedonia
    Posts
    206

    Default

    great tip! cheers

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    liv-k's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64bit
    Computer:
    SONY VAIO VPCF12E1E
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 (2.40 GHz)
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
    Primary Storage:
    500GB SATA 7200 rpm
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    33

    Default

    hello, can I ask sth about the daylight system too? I'm a beginner and I watch tutorials in order to make a rendering. So, I followed the exact same steps with a tutorial about a mental ray daylight system and I noticed that when he renders he can see the sun, but I can't. I don't know if this is a very general question. I just hope it's just a parameter that I haven't noticed.
    Thanks in advance

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,091

    Default

    You need to set the sun parameters inside your mr Physical Sky shader.

    In order to do this, Follow these steps:
    1. Open your "Materials Editor"
    2. Go to your "Rendering" pull down menu and select "Environment"
    3. In the "Environment and Effects" editor, under "Common Parameters", click and drag the "Map #36 (mr Physical Sky)" over and drop it into an empty material slot in the "Materials Editor". When prompted, make sure you choose Instance. This is very important.
    4. In the "Materials Editor", under "mr Physical Sky Parameters", you can adjust the "Sun Disk Appearance" by changing the 3 variables available. Try these settings: Disk Intensity = 2.0, Glow Intensity = 5.0, Scale = 4.0.

    You may have to play with the sun position also, to get it low enough so that you can see it in your render.
    Attached Images
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    liv-k's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64bit
    Computer:
    SONY VAIO VPCF12E1E
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 (2.40 GHz)
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
    Primary Storage:
    500GB SATA 7200 rpm
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Hey Cad64 thanks for the tips but unfortunately it doesn't work for me. I don't know something' s wrong. Which render preset should I use? Does this matter? I followed every step that you said. I' ve also checked 3d max help which has pretty much the same procedure. Any ideas?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,091

    Default

    Are you sure it's not working?
    Do you have your sun set low enough so that you can see it?
    Are you sure the sun isn't behind your camera?
    If you followed my instructions you should see it in your render.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    liv-k's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64bit
    Computer:
    SONY VAIO VPCF12E1E
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 (2.40 GHz)
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
    Primary Storage:
    500GB SATA 7200 rpm
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    Are you sure it's not working?
    Do you have your sun set low enough so that you can see it?
    Are you sure the sun isn't behind your camera?
    If you followed my instructions you should see it in your render.
    this is what I see


    and this is what I get


    what do you think?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,091

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I can tell by the position of the head assembly and the color of your sky that the sun is not low enough for you to be able to see it. Can you post a screenshot of your daylight system settings?
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2009, 05:42 pm
  2. wierd font
    By cmorg123 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Aug 2008, 03:02 pm
  3. Daylight line
    By WVCE84 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Feb 2008, 03:48 pm
  4. Daylight saving
    By eldon in forum Feedback
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st Oct 2007, 10:24 am
  5. how to get the best daylight using VIZ 4.0?
    By virtualcad in forum Cameras, Lighting & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Nov 2002, 04:33 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts