+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    124

    Question Cannot delete a layer

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    There are two layers, Layer1 and Layer2.
    There is an object that belongs to Layer1.
    I transfered the object to Layer2.
    After transferring the object to Layer2, Layer1 is supposed to be deletable.
    I could not delete it.

    Why?

    Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,003

    Default

    Three possible reasons:
    1. The layer is the curent one.
    2. There is a block definition in drawing’s database that contains item(s) located in that particular layer.
    3. If the drawing has Paper Space viewports, ensure that the trouble-maker layer isn’t frozen in some of it.
    Regards,

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows vista
    Computer:
    IBM Thinkpad lenovo
    CPU:
    Intel Centrino vPro
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,077

    Default

    to get rid of that type of layer, you can use 'laymrg' command & merge layer 1 into 2. that way it will transfer allthe selectble as well as non selctable objects on layer 2 & than you can purge layer 1
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    124

    Default hey

    1. It is not a 0 layer nor a Defpoint layer.
    2. It is not the current layer.
    3. It does not contain any objects anymore, as far as I can tell.
    4. I don't know what Xref-dependent layers are.

    This is what I did just now.
    I turned on all layers (light bulb on).
    I selected all objects. Right clicked, copy (or copy with base point)
    Pasted on a new Model (new, unsaved CAD file)

    When I opened the Layer Properties Manager, the layer I wanted to delete is gone. I guess that confirms number 3 above. So why could I not delete it? It was only when I copied the objects to a new Model that the layer was removed.

    Anyone care to explain that?
    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Senior Member DNK's Avatar
    Computer Details
    DNK's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 Ent
    Discipline
    See details...
    DNK's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Contractor
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Broadcast Engineering
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ATL
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Something in paperspace?

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,752

    Default

    What command did you use to try and delete the layer?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    124

    Question ReMark

    ReMark,

    Format -> Layer -> Layer Properties Manager
    then select layer and click delete.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,576

    Default

    Have you listed all the blocks in your drawing? and then done a Purge of unused blocks?

    When you select all objects, you only select the visible ones. A block can still be lurking in the background, and not be visible.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    124

    Laughing eldon you got it!

    Eldon, you got it.

    Thanks guys!

  10. #10
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,003

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    @marlon: Please take a look on second post, second suggestion...

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot delete a layer
    By salmonrose in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2010, 10:11 pm
  2. Delete layer using VBA
    By Hmm.. in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2008, 12:20 pm
  3. Delete Layer Error
    By AMB4311 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2008, 02:51 pm
  4. Delete Layer
    By CAD-e-Corner in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th May 2007, 07:10 pm
  5. Delete Layer(s)
    By CADTutor in forum Application Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2004, 08:12 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts