+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pearly King's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8

    Default Complex Linetypes

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all.

    This is my first post and I'm new to CAD so please bear with me.

    I've been on a drawing board now for almost 20yrs. Tried CAD a few times but found it just took too much time to try and learn.

    Most of the drwaings I do are scale plans for Road Traffic Accidents. As you can imagine many of the kerbs and hedges do not follow nice clean arcs etc but I'm working my way through that.

    My question is this;

    Can a complex linetype be created so that if I plot a centre of a hedge and offset to each side to create a hedge thickness, can those lines that represent the edge of the hedge be changed to a linetype which looks like a hedge? ie curly lines.

    P.S. I'm using an old version of LT 2000 which I started to play with years ago when I first tried CAD
    Last edited by Pearly King; 15th Feb 2010 at 04:51 pm.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,387

    Default

    I initially tried to make a complex linetype, but then found the MEASURE command. I make a block of the correct hedge thickness, and send it along the hedge centre line, which I then erase.

    However, I don't know whether 2000LT has the Measure command, and you may have to resort to a complex linetype. It may be easier to define a shape, then use that in the linetype.
    Attached Images

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pearly King's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8

    Default

    This looks like exactly what I'm after but being new to CAD I haven't got a clue how you did it?

    I don't seem to have a measure command only dimension or distance
    Last edited by Pearly King; 15th Feb 2010 at 04:50 pm.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pearly King View Post
    I don't seem to have a measure command
    That is what I was afraid of. I believe that it has been introduced to LT in later versions, so maybe you could up-date??

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pearly King's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8

    Default

    My mistake. I didn't try typing it in the command line, I was just looking for it in the menus. I do seem to have a measure command but I'm not sure how to use it.

    As for updating, I will do if and when I find I can use AutoCAD instead of the trustly pen & board. So far it seems CAD has a lot of limitations you just don't get when drawing by hand

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pearly King View Post
    So far it seems CAD has a lot of limitations you just don't get when drawing by hand
    AutoCAD LT is a limiting factor in that you cannot use Lisp routines, which make some tasks very easy.

    Erasing and copying are much easier in CAD, and the lines don't smudge.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pearly King's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Excuse my complete ignorence but what are Lisp routines?

    As for copying, erasing and the smudges, I couldn't agree more. The amount of new shirts that I've had on just one day and then that blasted ink stain...

  8. #8
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,387

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pearly King View Post
    Excuse my complete ignorence but what are Lisp routines?
    It is part of the ability of AutoCAD to be customized. They are user-written programmes, but there are many already written that are very useful and available as downloads.

    I probably have not explained it very well, but now you know the buzz word, have a delve into the web

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Pearly King's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ah. Apps for AutoCAD! Sounds very useful indeed. Maybe I'll have to look into a full version then and not just an LT upgrade

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Map 3D 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Pull Down Menu --- Draw>Revision Cloud
    This is how I make the bush or brushlines.
    Using this command you cant draw it faster by hand. I am not sure it's in the version you have.
    Cut that imbillical cord to your pen it's tough to do. I was sad when I had to many years ago
    Good Luck

Similar Threads

  1. Need to be able to create more complex linetypes?
    By ReMark in forum Useful Links
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th Sep 2008, 11:47 am
  2. Complex Linetypes
    By Dmack in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2008, 02:07 pm
  3. Annotative scaling of complex linetypes
    By chulse in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th Dec 2007, 09:23 pm
  4. creating complex linetypes
    By BUFF_dragon in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2007, 11:41 pm
  5. Simple/Complex Linetypes
    By Evermaxx in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2006, 01:52 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts