applying materials

bjenk8100

Hello,

I am using acad10. I drew a somewhat complicated structure and am trying to apply materials to them. The object was made by non-polylines. In order to apply a material i think you have to make it a polyline. I went to pedit>multiple>y>hten selected objects. THen I go to apply material and choose the material and apply material to object. I click on the object I made out of polylines but nothing. Any help woujld be great. I am new to materials adn rendering.

You just used regular polylines to create the object and that's it?

Non-polylines then you turned them into polylines. OK. Then did you extrude them?

Materials can be applied to solids and surfaces. If you drew a box using the rectangle command or polylines and did nothing more than that and then you tried to apply a material to it, the process would fail.

By the way, materials can be applied to objects and they can be assigned / attached to layers as well.

Thanks

Hmm, wonder why it must have thickness. Sometimes I dont like to show any extrusion but just like to hatch. Can materials be hatched? I dont see the difference.

I think with hatch you are limited to colors. Materials have other attributes like texture and luminescence etc.

Unless you create a surface or a solid autocad sees it as a group of lines with no place to "paint material".

i am still having trouble with the pedit. I select objects (4 lines for a box) and hit enter. It tells me to pick from a list of options width, open, close, etc. I am trying to see what that is all about now. Anyway, afterwards, when i go to the objects tehy are individual and not grouped.

Ok, first let me say that if you are drawing something common like a square or a rectangle then you can save time by using the "rectangle' command because that will create a closed polyline that is ready to be extruded. Also there are the "primitives" ...box, pyramid, wedge etc that quickly create solid objects.