Problem Autocad 2008 - 100% CPU when regenerating

mmiket

Hi all,

I have a major problem with the file I work on in Autocad 2008.

My file has many layouts and I wanted to set up viewport visibility for each layout separately, so that I could show different contents on different sheets. To do that I was setting up layer thaw/freeze in viewports on respective layouts (obvious so far...)

I started playing with freeze/thaw/visible etc, all in layer manager and that's where I hit a major problem!

Suddenly my computer got crazy with this file, it works EXTREMELY slowly, it regenerates drawing for couple of minutes now, switching layouts or sometimes even zooming in/out made it entirely impossible to work!

Every time I enter/exit viewport, change layout or open the block editor, CPU hits 100% and stays there for minutes! Status bar says it is 'Regenrating the model again - buffering viewport' as well as 'Generating 600 (sometimes 1200!) modified elements' - even though I merely switched layouts!

Computer was able to handle the file perfectly until a few minutes ago, it's as if he hit a wall or somehting! I can still work with it say in model space, drafing, hatching etc, as long as I do not change viewport...

I do not get it but it suddenly made my work almost impossible!!!

PLEASE HELP!! I am moderately experienced user but honestly - have no clue how to handle that behaviour!

PS. File is in 2D, does not have many xrefs etc, plain lines some text, hatches, a few references to jpgs, that's it!

How many layouts had you setup prior to the problem happening?

Could it be a corrupted drawing? Did you try running an Audit on this file?

Is AC 2008 up-to-date with the latest service pack?

What are the computer specs?

Hi ReMark

1) I had 8 layouts with 2-3 viewports each and it was working just fine, and then suddenly - when I started freezing/thawing visibility it all begun working so slow (but the exact point at which it all happened - I am not sure...)