+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    peterg's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP PRO
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    42

    Default Lines & Poly lines

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    What is the difference between normal lines & poly lines?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    A Polyline will form a continous line (i.e. one object) when you keep drawing segments. A Line will form separate objects with each segment.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    peterg's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP PRO
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    42

    Default This is my understanding of your answer, is it correct?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    A Polyline will form a continous line (i.e. one object) when you keep drawing segments. A Line will form separate objects with each segment.
    Normal lines
    If I draw a square (ortho on) absolute starting point, then enter dimensions for each side moving the cursor to form 4 sides, this would be seen as 4 seperate lines.

    polyline
    If I use the same procedure to draw the same square, this would be seen as 1 line.

    ??????????????


  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peterg View Post
    Normal lines
    If I draw a square (ortho on) absolute starting point, then enter dimensions for each side moving the cursor to form 4 sides, this would be seen as 4 seperate lines.

    polyline
    If I use the same procedure to draw the same square, this would be seen as 1 line.

    ??????????????

    Yep. Exactly. No need to cry over it
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,802

    Default

    Polylines can also be assigned a width.

    Polylines can includes arcs.

    Polylines can have a curve fit to them or be splined.

    Moving, rotating, copying, mirroring, etc. an object created with polylines (continuous) is usually easier than if the object is comprised of individual lines.

    Non-continuous polylines, as well as lines, can be "joined" using the Join command or the Pedit command.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  6. #6
    Super Member Patrick Hughes's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Patrick Hughes's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7610
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2 (six core)
    RAM:
    32 Gb
    Graphics:
    3 Gb Nvidia Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    2x 1920x1080 Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Patrick Hughes's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Self unemployed - Machine Design
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Machine Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rockford, Illinois
    Posts
    682

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peterg View Post
    Normal lines
    If I draw a square (ortho on) absolute starting point, then enter dimensions for each side moving the cursor to form 4 sides, this would be seen as 4 seperate lines.

    polyline
    If I use the same procedure to draw the same square, this would be seen as 1 line.

    Heh heh, good question.

    You will see the same rectangle - the "line" rectangle will be made of 4 lines.

    The "polyline" rectangle will be made of 4 lines that are joined together and are selectable as one object. You can stretch both types. A polyline can be exploded into its individual segments which would then leave you with a 4 line rectangle.

    Conversly a line can be turned into a polyline and joined with other (connected) lines.
    www.cadtempo.com
    Time tracking for AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other CAD programs

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Wilbri's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS Windows 7 Professional 64Bit
    Computer:
    Self built
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H AMD 890GX
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Processor - 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3-1600
    Graphics:
    None (AMD FirePro V4900-future)
    Primary Storage:
    SamsungĀ® SATA2 1.5 TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Monitor:
    Samsung BX2450 Monitor 24" Led
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Wilbri's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    My own business. Design, Drawing, Cost Estimating and Planning
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Design Engineer - General mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    214

    Default

    If I understand correctiy drawing a rectangle using the "rectangle" command would produce a "polyline" rectangle.
    I this correct?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Oregon, Usa
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Yes it would.

    A rectangle drawn with the rectangle command is also a " closed polyline" and can be extruded into a solid object.

    Working with the command "Pedit" (polyline edit) can help you better understand about lines and polylines and the difference between closed and open polylines and how to change a line into a polyline etc.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Wilbri's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS Windows 7 Professional 64Bit
    Computer:
    Self built
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H AMD 890GX
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Processor - 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3-1600
    Graphics:
    None (AMD FirePro V4900-future)
    Primary Storage:
    SamsungĀ® SATA2 1.5 TB 7200RPM 32MB
    Monitor:
    Samsung BX2450 Monitor 24" Led
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Wilbri's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    My own business. Design, Drawing, Cost Estimating and Planning
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Design Engineer - General mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    214

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    a1harps

    Thank you.
    In the past I have produced my drawings using "lines".
    ReMark recently made me aware of the advantages of drawing with "polylines" and using "Pedit", a practice I will be adopting in my next drawing now that I have become
    with it.

Similar Threads

  1. 3D Dashed Poly Lines - How to Create
    By NYATI in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Sep 2009, 12:04 pm
  2. how to convert normal lines into poly line
    By vidyamangam in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2009, 12:02 pm
  3. Constructing Hidden Lines and Construction Lines
    By Colgrave in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2009, 04:01 pm
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 03:45 pm
  5. 3d (poly)lines with width
    By nasko in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th May 2005, 06:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts